**FAIL** calling upon the AF braintrust. Phone can't boot up despite wipes/restores


Last Updated:

  1. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    Heres how it happened.

    *I bought the pro version of twidroyd
    *Bit later noticed some big battery drain
    *Rebooted
    *Had a ton of process.acore FCs
    *Uninstalled twidroyd
    *Continued to have issues
    *Cache/dalvik wipe
    *Issues remained
    *Attempted nand restore to one I made earlier today
    *Had error asking me to restore via adb
    *Phone rebooted and would not go past the splash screen...20+ minutes
    *Reboot into recovery, factory wipe
    *Phone not going past splash screen
    *Tried another nand restore with one I made last week....failed with previous error
    *Phone not going past splash screen
    *Tried restoring with my oldest nand...the one I made after the 'starting over' method from a couple months ago. After about 15 minutes (and 10 lines of "..............") it finally finished and rebooted
    *Phone not going past splash screen
    *Battery pull

    nothing :( I don't think its hopeless because I can still boot into the bootloader and get into recovery, but I have no idea how to fix this. I can't fix this myself, I've exhausted my own methods. I am now phoneless and out of contact with the world while awaiting advice about how I can fix this, whether it by RUU or some other means (anything but RUU :( )

    halp ;(
     

    Advertisement
  2. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    still on the splash screen. when i plug it into my computer, the computer makes its default 'recognition' sound, unplugging it makes the 'unplugged' sound. thats good, right? :(
     
  3. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Yuo probably got the adb error because your battery was under 30%. Charge it up a little with the phone off and try the nand again. To be on the safe side, leave it plugged in to ac power while attempting to restore.
     
  4. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    fully charged battery.

     
  5. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Damn, that usually solves my problem when I get that message...

    Have you tried the starting over method where you load the PC36IMG file in bootloader?

    I know you loaded a nand that you did after using that method but maybe running all of the steps again will work.
     
  6. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    its come to that. i just need to back and find the thread. i even tried putting the latest nand on a different sd card and that didnt work.
     
  7. cfrock

    cfrock Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a thought..

    add a new rom zip onto the sd card and try loading that up since you can make it to recovery prompt. This will force you to start from scratch but you may get your phone back.
     
  8. Shawnz

    Shawnz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    38
    How long did you wait on the splash screen.

    I was playing with overclock and hung my phone hard. I had to pull the battery to turn it off.

    When I turned it back on it was on the white Evo 4G screen for a LONG time - like 5+ minutes and then the boot animation for 3-4x as long as normal. It finally came back and it seemed to have backed off the CPU clock to the previous setting.

    If that doesn't work I'd do liek the previous guy suggested. Factory reset, clear cache, clear dalvik and re-flash ROM.
     
  9. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    20+ minutes.

    i have factory reset and tried reflashing ROM many times.
     
  10. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    Okay, huge progress.

    I did the Starting Over method: How to start over: Fully rooted stock 1.47.651.1 in one shot (no adb!) - xda-developers

    Phone booted, never thought I'd be so damn happy to see that sprint bootscreen.

    However: Rebooted back into recovery, attempted nand restore again, and got the adb error. I noticed though that the phone has RA version 1.7.0.1 which I think is outdated. Also noticed my radio was 2.05.00.06.10 which i know is outdated so my wimax radio is probably as well.

    Now attempting to re-flash Fresh3.3 and going from there.
     
  11. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
  12. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    Here's where im at:

    Used bootloader to install the PC36IMG Metalhead on XDA suggested
    Phone wouldnt boot despite multiple restarts, took me right back to clockwork
    Tried flashing fresh3.3, but reboots still took me right back to clockwork
    Decided to try and flash PC36IMG
    Phone booted up into fresh 3.3.

    Wow.

    Last step of the puzzle is to get back to RA recovery and restore my nand. I grabbed ROM manager from the market and it says I have RA already, but when I boot into recovery its clockwork. Lil confused about that, I can't restore till I get RA back.ROM Mgr said clockwork wasnt even installed when I opened it, just said I had RA. But when I reboot into recovery, it still brings me to clockwork. I tried flashing clockwork so ROM Mgr would recognize it had it, then re-flashed RA over it and rebooted into recovery, but still bringing me to clockwork. I tried using the QuickBoot app from the market to reboot into recovery, still clockwork. Just need to get RA back and not sure how.
     
  13. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    Flash clockwork in rom manager then flash ra and you should be good
     
  14. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    didnt work ;\
     
  15. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    sigh...tried to flash RA manually via fastboot, per this thread: [Recovery] [28-August-2010] RA-evo-v1.8.0 - xda-developers

    this is what happened.

     
  16. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
  17. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    i have better terminal emulator pro by magicandoidapps.com, is that what you mean?
     
  18. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Yea any terminal emulator app will do. Amon his instructions of how to flash it this way up on his page.
     
  19. UCChemE05

    UCChemE05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    6
    Any good news? I have no help :( but I'm interested in your resolution
     
  20. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    well i have my phone back, but i cant get RA recovery still. I used the terminal app to flash RA1.8 but it still reboots into clockwork. Im stumped.
     
  21. steve053

    steve053 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    YOu could try and download and install ROM Manager. There's an option to flash alternative recovery, which is amon_ra.
     
  22. wojosama

    wojosama Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm not sure if you got it working or not, or if this will help you, but it was the only way i was able to go from clockwork to RA.

    -You'll need to download the androidsdk if you don't have it.
    -Place the amon ra recovery image in the main directory of your sd card.
    -DO NOT type the $ or the #'s. Also, you will only need to use the su command if after you enter adb shell you're presented with a $. If you see the #, skip the su command.

    ---HOW TO FLASH CUSTOM RECOVERY IMAGE---
    1. Boot your phone into recovery mode
    2. Plug your phone into your PC
    3. Open cmd on PC and change directory to your androidsdk/tools folder
    4. Run the following command(s):
    adb shell
    $su (not required if you have root already)
    #mount -a (You might get some error messages, ignore it, keep going)
    #flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-evo-v1.8.0.img
    reboot recovery

    Can't remember where i found the steps, but whoever posted them was a godsend. I tried a lot of different methods before i came across this one and it was very easy. I really hope this helps you (signed up for the forums just to post this lol). Good luck.
     
  23. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    This is what I get. the directory and file names are correct. :(

     
  24. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    im wondering if the flash_image file is in the wrong place. I flashed this rom before fresh 3.3: Stock 3.29.651.5 PC36IMG.ZIP Format - xda-developers

    A search using root explorer for 'flash_image' revealed two results:

    /data/data/com.koushikdutta.rommanager/files/flash_image
    /system/xbin/flash_image

    hmmm...?
     
  25. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    i took a look in the bootloader and I have S-ON. No wonder this is giving me crap. now i got to figure that out how to turn it back off then try this again. Lost my engineering bootloader, it seems ;( My fault for not reading enough. dammit
     

Share This Page

Loading...