FAIL: Update to Froyo Failed


Last Updated:

  1. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    NOOO!!!

    Fortunately, my phone is not bricked. I unrooted it by using the one-click app, downloaded and tried to install froyo but received an unkind error message...


    THE UPDATE FAILED TO INSTALL!!!!

    NOOOO!!!!

    I'm assuming I need to flash the phone back to factory?

    How do I go about doing this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Pucuck

    Pucuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    22
    Droid X (look for SBF in that post)

    Is that all you did to your phone or is there more? Not accusing, just making sure you have all the details out so people can better help you. Are you doing the OTA update? I assume you're running 2.1 still if you're trying to update to Froyo.
     
  3. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Detailed Details...

    This is a Verizon-Motorola DroidX

    Firmware version: 2.1-update1

    I used an app that roots with 1 click. The root app added these files:

    busybox, exploid, su, superuser.apk

    Once I was rooted, I downloaded some root user apps such as rootexplorer, wireless tethering for rooted users, titanium etc.

    However, I have not yet deleted any of the bloatware so I'm basically just a 2.1-update1 rooted user with all the factory junk.

    I used the one click root app to unroot myself before I attempted the update.

    I tried to get the update by doing system updates from the phone. I tried doing the legitimate update and it didn't work. It went through the whole process of shutting down, booting, installing, rebooting again and said the update failed.

    I just tried downloading RSDLite and getting some sbf file but the phone is unrecognized by RSDLite once I am in the recovery mode. I have the appropriate driver but the phone is simply NOT SHOWING UP in RSDLite. And yes I replaced the .ini file as the instructions requested.

    Please assist.
     
  4. Pucuck

    Pucuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm not sure why you're not able to update. I don't think rooting will do anything to the ability to update, but I could be wrong. Usually you can update and it will take away your root access after you update. I may not be the best help, but I'm sure someone with greater knowledge will chime in.

    Did you get the updated Motorola drivers for your OS? I did this with XP when I had to do the SBF.
     
  5. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure I've got the most current drivers. The phone is recognized by Windows, just not RSDLite.
     
  6. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Make sure you have the most recent RSD Lite and SBF files. Are you still within your warranty period?
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Is USB debugging turned on? Settings... Applications... App settings... Development

    Are you running Moto 4.7.1 drivers?
     
  8. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes and maybe. checking on driver version
     
  9. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have USB debugging enabled and I have the most current drivers.
     
  10. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did some lookin around. I didn't have the correct sbf and an older version of RSDLite. Still does not explain why RSDLite didn't even see the phone though.
     
  11. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    I mentioned that above. It won't work without the right files.
     
  12. Justintoxicated

    Justintoxicated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    12
    Try rebooting the phone while holding the volume up/down buttons to get into recovery mode, then RDSLight should recognize the phone.

    I'm about to try the same thing, it's a headache on xp, but it was super easy on my win 7 system to get it setup.
     
  13. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok.. now I'm really confused. I downloaded the full sbf VRZ_MB810_2.3.15_1FF_01 and RSDLite v4.8

    I have the most current drivers for my Droid X. Windows will recognize it but RSDLite still refuses to acknowledge its existence.

    I need to reflash my phone so I can update to froyo.
     
  14. gooseDROID

    gooseDROID Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a problem getting into the boot loader...

    Once again, I am rooted but that should not effect anything right? Flashing is gonna set me back to square 1 anyway right?
     
  15. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    The sbf I have is: the_gift2.zip I am not sure what the file is you are referencing. Go to the user guide posted as the number one sticky here.
     
  16. tech_head

    tech_head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    5
    Rooting does not prevent OTA upgrade. I can confirm this.
    You only lose root.

    Something else is going on. Have you turned off
    Settings -> Data Manager -> Data Delivery -> Social Applications -> Sync over Wifi only
    If this is checked you will not be able to OTA update.
     
  17. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    He's trying to flash with the sbf, not OTA.
     
  18. markhamr

    markhamr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    2.3.15 should only be flashed if you have bootloader 30.03, which you would have if you were on OTA 2.2.

    It sounds like you're on 2.1 and should have BL 30.01. You want to sbf to a clean 2.1 and hopefully it will upgrade OTA.

    You can get it if you google "rootz wiki droid x sbf"

    Towards the bottom it says:

     
  19. Justintoxicated

    Justintoxicated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    12
    I'm doing my phone right now on a windows 7 system. I could not get my phone to be recognized my rsdlite 4.8 running xp with service pack 3. I don't know why but I gave up after a frustrating 4 hours.

    I didn't even have to put the phone into the bootloader screen, rsdlite did that automatically when running from windows 7.

    * Just booted into android 2.1 and i'm activating the phone.

    Once you do this go to setting about, and download the update :) mine is Dling now.
     
  20. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    ... and everyone complains about Vista and Win7 not recognizing their phone and having to use Xp.
     
  21. II Kings 9:20

    II Kings 9:20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    21
    I have a Samsung Fascinate bone stock not rooted and I get the same fail as you guys are getting.
     
  22. bouchigo

    bouchigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1,026
    I've tried it on 3 different computers, all running Win 7 (2 64-bit, 1 34-bit) and have had no issues at all.

    To the OP, try a different computer, or at the very least try one of the USB ports on the back of the computer, the ones on the actual Motherboard (don't know if you are already doing that or not, but it's worth a try).
     
  23. stonehenge1861

    stonehenge1861 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    24
  24. ECFfighter7232

    ECFfighter7232 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    336
    holy old ass thread revival batman
     
  25. bouchigo

    bouchigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1,026

    I didn't even notice until you said something, that is old....lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...