*failed to start daemon*


Last Updated:

  1. elroy jetson

    elroy jetson Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay,
    I am still a noob with android for the most part, and have been attempting to get root for days now.

    The threads are starting to a bit disorganized and my problem is hopefully a simple one...

    I downloaded the files from the 10 minute root video, updated it, including the newest usb driver files.

    Once I go into command on the computer, get into the tools folder and in cmd prompt enter adb shell, I get the following and can't get any farther

    adb server is out of date. killing...
    ADB server didn't ACK
    *failed to start daemon*
    error:



    I have uninstalled multiple times and I am at a loss.... I have done tons with my old win mobile, flashing, etc...

    Any help would be appreciated
     

    Advertisement
  2. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    thats normal keep going
     
  3. GiveMeItNow

    GiveMeItNow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    23
    I just rooted mine ten minutes ago with that method.
    First off i can say that you dont just go to cmd prompt and type adb shell. You have to do as stated in video. If you did exactly as he said, then do the sd card trick.
    For me I had the loop.bat running, selected recovery, hit power, then just kept pushing the card in And out till a message came up daimon something, it stopped the loop. At that point I typed adb shell And got the message we're looking for. Then just followed the video to finish. I got it about the fifth time.
     
  4. elroy jetson

    elroy jetson Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0

    first post "Once I go into command on the computer, get into the tools folder and in cmd prompt enter adb shell"

    i did exactly as said, and did not go right to adb shell, otherwise it would have directory or file path not found....
    thank you for the feed back...
     
  5. GiveMeItNow

    GiveMeItNow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    23
    Sorry about that, missed that.

    Try this when you get to that point...from Kenyu73,

    Ensure computer speakers are ON and begin the LOOP process. Honestly, the LOOP is only for visuals that you have a connection...

    ** shut phone down first **

    1) pop out SDcard, but leave in slot
    2) Volume Down + Power
    3) Volume Down, select recovery, press power (be ready for next step!!)
    4) Once you hear the "device removed" windows sound, quicky press in your sdcard in! You'll hear another "device found" sound a few seconds after.

    It may take a few tries, it's really odd timing. I've got about 3:5 chance when I try!

    That's it! Follow the 10min infamous video for the rest.

    This is basically how the "quickly insert/remove" sdcard process worked after many attempts... its a matter of catching the recovery in-between some special initialization.

    *** TIPS ***
    * try right as your hear the beep-beep
    * try right at the last beep of the beeps ?!?
    * try right before the recovery black screen .5 sec after the beeps
     
  6. elroy jetson

    elroy jetson Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    k...
    got that solved... unistalled all htc stuff, redid it, not i can get past that, but once into shell or loop, not recognizing phone

    which is where i think most others had problems... let me hit the threads again.
     
  7. irishpride

    irishpride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    76
    It's all about the SD card, I tried 7 or 8 different cards before I found one that worked, Sandisk's are very unreliable for this root process. The two best brands to use are pny & Kingston. I did mine with the pny 4gb class 4 card, but a lot of people have gotten it to work with the 2gb pny.
     
  8. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    i was successful with the 16 gig card from my Moto Droid.
     
  9. cp1

    cp1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Are you sure you got the SDK installed correctly, including the USB drivers? Is there already an adb running in your task manager -- I assume you're using windows?
     
  10. GiveMeItNow

    GiveMeItNow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    23
    I used my 8gb sandisk from my BB storm. just keep trying.
     
  11. elroy jetson

    elroy jetson Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running win7 64
    adb connects when phone connected in normal os, after using command prompt to get adb shell, it will show

    $

    once i follow the guides, i can't get it to recognize phone...

    which is a step up from nothing....sloooooowly moving in right direction
     
  12. Big20x

    Big20x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Me too...just posted a new thread on this issue
     

Share This Page

Loading...