FAO KAM, Pegasus, Drakaz, anyone that knows how the galaxy build works


Last Updated:

  1. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    System partition size
    do you know what this is or what the maximum size it can be on

    I cant go into why atm but its an important question that i kinda need an answer too
     

    Advertisement
  2. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    The partions are as follows:

    dev: size erasesize name
    mtd0: 00320000 00020000 "boot"
    mtd1: 05780000 00020000 "system"
    mtd2: 00140000 00020000 "userdata"
    mtd3: 00320000 00020000 "recovery"
    mtd4: 05780000 00020000 "cache"
    mtd5: 023c0000 00020000 "data"

    The system partition size is how much space you want to use for the /system partion that holds all the system processes etc. the / partition is part of the 'boot.img'.

    I think you can make it as big as you want since its held on the internal sdcard. The only limitation is probably on the boot.img size since that has to be extracted and run by the bootloader.
     
  3. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    thanks, ill pm you
     
  4. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Something to note is that cache partition is supposed to hold system updates for OTA. However in our case, we have no OTA so maybe you might want to experiment with changing the size for cache to really small amounts and increase system.

    Especially if you won't use the update.zip method to flash from recovery.
     
  5. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can we change the partition size?

    I got this on my Galaxy ~
    mtd4: 00280000 00020000 "recovery"

    I need it to be more than 3.2Mb so I can use the recovery.img around.

    How can I pass my mtd4 from 00280000 to 00320000 or more?

    Thanks
     
  6. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Its fixed by the bootloader afaik. I dont recommend trying to change it.

    What recovery image are you talking about? There are several for the galaxy which work as is.
     
  7. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    As you can see, the recovery rom won't allow recovery.img more than 2.8Mo to be flashed. So, I need a working recovery less than 2.8 Mo or I can change the recovery rom size. Any solution will work.
    All recovery.img for i7500 that I found are 2.9 ~ 3Mo, they won't flash...
     
  8. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    hmm wait you have a different layout on your galaxy?!

    What version of galaxy is it? Where did you get it? what version firmware is on it right now?

    if you do:

    cat /proc/mtd

    what do you see exactly?
     
  9. uosarang

    uosarang New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    partiiton size fixed in arm11 bootloader.
    If you need more space, add your apps to cache partition.
    and make a symbolic link to recovery partition in cache.
    You can get more space. =)
     
  10. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I do that?

    Can any one post the result of ~ cat /proc/mtd ~ for a working i7500?
     
  11. scollie

    scollie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    cat /proc/mtd
    dev: size erasesize name
    mtd0: 00320000 00020000 "boot"
    mtd1: 05780000 00020000 "system"
    mtd2: 00140000 00020000 "userdata"
    mtd3: 00320000 00020000 "recovery"
    mtd4: 05780000 00020000 "cache"
    mtd5: 023c0000 00020000 "data"
     
  12. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your input.
    For some reason, I don't have the same organization. Here's mine ~
    # cat /proc/mtd
    dev: size erasesize name
    mtd0: 00700000 00020000 "boot"
    mtd1: 06400000 00020000 "system"
    mtd2: 034c0000 00020000 "userdata"
    mtd3: 035c0000 00020000 "cache"
    mtd4: 00280000 00020000 "recovery"
    mtd5: 00280000 00020000 "fota"

    My question. How can I change this to make it fit the above? At least, for the recovery line.
     
  13. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Wow thats really wierd. What kind of samsung galaxy is this??

    If you could answer the question I might be able to help u! If you're sure its a normal galaxy then you should flash it with the latest IK5 files that includes the BOOTLOADER (arm9 and arm11). If its not a galaxy, or its some non standad galaxy that may well brick it.

    There's no other way to change the partition size - like uosarang said its fixed in the bootloader. Think of it like being fixed in the BIOS on your computer. You can partition however u like but i wont boot. You need to reflash the bootloader to fix it.
     
  14. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a regular Galaxy! but it won't flash a recovery.img larger than 2.6Mo - due to the recovery size I guess. It won't either flash using ODIN. Though, I've never tried to flash the BOOTLOADER file alone.

    Is there anyway to flash the BOOTLOADER alone? or flash IK5 file but using another tool? since ODIN returns errors.
     
  15. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    Regular Galaxy with OTA (fota partition) functionality? Which provider/country is that??? Kernel?
     
  16. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the use of this OTA?
    Kernel 2.6.27
     
  17. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    its not a regular galaxy, if i remember rightly you were funning firmware id3? which is prior to any official galaxy release so this is a test model
     
  18. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess so... but there must be a way to flash it! right?
     
  19. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    well if it was a pre release test model or a dev model then the device could be running slightly different hardware and drivers to what is officially released. they tweek alot of things before release when its in internal NDA phase

    its quite likely they realised that configuration that you had was in an unworkable state and changed it

    of course im only speculating as i dont have the answer but i know that firmware is older than original release as the ID referes to the date of april 2009
     
  20. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, could be that!
    Is it possible to flash it but without using ODIN? I have root access and can use adb also.
     
  21. uosarang

    uosarang New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "root access and can use adb" is not enough to modifying the partition structure.
    as I said, partition structure is defined in bootloader's source code ( Header file )
    (..and maybe bootloader source code is not opened. but if you can porting open legacy to galaxy legacy, you can modify it!!)
    If samsung guys does not change the structure, you can't flashing.
    so I said that you should use symbolic link.
     
  22. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you please show me how to use symbolic link?
     
  23. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hmm, download this:

    RapidShare: 1-CLICK Web hosting - Easy Filehosting

    You should find seperate TAR files inside. Try and flash all the files onto the phone. If that doesnt work, try flashing the BOOTLOADER only. You're phone won't boot the OS after that. Go into download mode again and flash all files.

    This is RISKY!!! so do it at your own risk.
     
  24. adamedoe

    adamedoe Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried it, but it fails. It give the big partition error.

    Is there any way to flash all this without using ODIN?
     
  25. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Even if you only flash the bootloader on its own?

    This is the lowest level method that we know of. After that its some unknown flash routines or jtag.

    You're only other alternative is to make a custom recovery and put more files into the rectool zip (which gets extracted to ram on boot)
     

Share This Page

Loading...