[FAQ]ROOT MEMORY: a2sd+ / partitions (updated 10th August 2011)


Last Updated:

  1. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Where did I say that?

    But yes, thats what it means. Wipe data in recovery.
     

    Advertisement
    nivin likes this.
  2. nivin

    nivin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. nivin

    nivin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    wrigglesworth likes this.
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I mention this in the Rooting FAQ in My sig that I pointed you to earlier.

    Put the above information together with the below:


    ...and you get this:

    From off, Hold Volume down and press Power.

    There is a recovery option here. You need to use volume up and down to navigate the menu, then power to select the recovery option. This then loads your custom recovery.

    Now you can use the track ball to navigate the recovery menu.

    Wipe data/factory rest.
     
    nivin likes this.
  5. nivin

    nivin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks!! sorry..but I did not want to mess things up..
     
  6. giladgaron

    giladgaron Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Migrating to a new SD card question.
    I bought a new SD Card (16gb) and I would like to transfer all my data from my original 4gb SD (which I used your guide on).

    So, my data is not the problem of course because I can just move it to the new card.
    But can I do something about the app2sd+ partition? can I partition my new card with ROM manager and after that move the original SD app2sd+ partition content to the new SD? will it work?

    Thanks.
     
  7. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    248
    Deleted: incorrect reply
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Take a nandroid backup, then copy data to pc.

    Insert new card. Boot and partition. If it won't boot, wipe data.

    Partition with Rom manager.

    Copy data back to card.

    Nandroid restore.
     
    zeegy and giladgaron like this.
  9. giladgaron

    giladgaron Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, Is there a way to access that partition in windows or do I need to use Linux?
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You don't need to access it at all. Nandroid will back it up and restore it on the new partition providing you copied the back up to the new card
     
    giladgaron likes this.
  11. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    I was going to suggest Titanium but if Nandroid will do it, that's awesome!
     
  12. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    Dan, I've seen the size of app data in Internal memory grow in size if I try manually moving them to sd with the built in Froyo option in a ROM which has A2SD+, meaning when I try A2SD in a ROM with A2SD+. Yes I know I shouldnt do that, and that A2SD+ is automatic, but do you know what's going on? When the script moves the data automatically to ext, apparently Froyo doesnt get that info, and it tries moving it too. In some cases, the size in Internal remains same, but in others, it increases. Why?
     
  13. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58

    I've got a qn which has nothing to do with A2SD, but since I saw this post, I'm asking it..


    The process of creating a gold card reads the 32 bit CID number and after certain steps, writes certain other data physically on the card. Since that is so, why cant we physically access the data on the sdcard to read the CID by computer based software. I've asked this elsewhere including XDA, but noone seems to know..

    There are applications which can read the actual bytes off an SD card. Since the CID is hardcoded at manufacture, this data should be there as bytes. Does someone know the actual 'sector' location of this data?

    I feel the qn is pertinent because there are people (including me) who have semi-bricked their devices because they forgot to create goldcards. If a sdcard CID can be read independently without a device, that means a lot of hope..
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Honestly don't know the answer.

    A2SD+ is a script which moves apps and dalvik cache to ext. Android doesn't see it as anything other than the phones internal memory. This is why froyo still allows it to be moved.

    I believe a2SD+ moves the entire app and dalvik cache. Froyo just the app. Since you have already moved the dalvik cache, there should be only app cache on internal memory.

    Perhaps a2sd leaves a minute part of the app behind?
    Perhaps app cache is partly wiped.during the move?
    Perhaps its a mistakes?

    How much does the space increase? What happens on ext?
     
  15. droidzone

    droidzone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    58
    Increases in Internal by a meagre amount like 5% or so.. I will post back details after getting my device from Service. Have to get it back after the SLCD brick I landed it in.. :)
     
  16. flyte

    flyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    3
    Took the plunge and I am now using teppic's ROM w/ power saving mod pack, tweaks, and of course Apps2SD+.

    Quick System Info reports A2SD storage: total; 457MB, Free 304MB, after I had installed many of my apps back. (How do you quit Quick System Info without force closing it?)

    Thanks danfrance for this thread and guidance - I wouldn't have had enough courage to do this with out it.
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Just press back
     
  18. flyte

    flyte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes that exits the application, but the 2 notification icons is what I am trying to have go away, which a force stop does. In other words, I don't want it to be running as a service.
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Ahhh, in QSI, go to menu, prefs and untick the "Show Icon" boxes.

    They don't appear in my running services either way though.
     
    flyte and faz1964 like this.
  20. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    HI

    If all the apps are installed on the partition which seems to be the case. What is left in the phones memory? The reason I ask is out of 147mb, I only have 53mb free?

    Thanks
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    App cache for individual apps cannot be moved by any method.

    Things like map cache for google maps, emails from the email client, contacts storage, calendar storage etc...

    Have a look in Manage applications and see what is taking up so much.

    I've used up 55MB, with 80 Apps. I dont use the email app and my contacts arent huge.
     
    faz1964 likes this.
  22. faz1964

    faz1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    4
    Looking at Manage Applications shows for instance

    NFS Shift 39.08MB
    Talking Tom 18.41MB
    K-9 Mail 14.16

    And the other 120 apps etc total way in excess of the 100MB used.

    What about APK files. How much space do they take up and is it safe to delete these or can you suggest any other safe to delete files?
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    To be honest, that is rather a lot of apps but that 55 MB of space won't easily be taken up with whatever else you install.

    If you find after a short while that it is, I can hook you up with further methods

    Apks are apps. It's not like Windows where the downloaded exe can be deleted.

    Go through some of you apps. Click.om them.in manage applications and look at their cache size
     
    faz1964 likes this.
  24. Bam82

    Bam82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    3
    I followed the instructions for partitioning using ROM Manager and downloaded quick system info and got the information unavailable message.

    Is this simply because I havent yet flashed a rom that supports A2SD+ or have I done something wrong?

    Should I go ahead and flash a rom and see what happens or is there something else I can do first to make sure the partition has worked?
     
  25. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Flash the rom and chck again
     

Share This Page

Loading...