Fascinate lag due to RAM draining?Support


Last Updated:

  1. tats_06

    tats_06 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    27
    So...I am coming to a conclusion that the lag that many people experience is coming from low RAM to begin with and then it draining even more. I just keep wondering why oh why? Verizon and Samsung, really? Greedy for a 512 RAM chip? This device is powerful and I feel like they left it short of important boost. :( What do you think?
     

    Advertisement
  2. tats_06

    tats_06 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    27
    Disclaimer: this is strictly my opinion, therefore please don't flame. Thanks. :)
     
  3. Gibbyson

    Gibbyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    16
    There is a lot of confusion about that, but i think it was confirmed that it has 512MB, but some of it is dedicated to GPU and/or OS or something like that. Limitation of the S or 2.1 Kernel, blah blah blah, it all ran together, but it has 512 of something, haha. ish!
     
  4. tats_06

    tats_06 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    27
    VZW site says flash 512 mb and RAM 384. I doubt it has 512 because I don't even have all my apps downloaded and I hover around 55mb....whereas on inc I always hovered at like 200+ with way more apps. So I don't know but I wish it was true.
     
  5. jdk2

    jdk2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    38
    I think there's an issue with the amount that's usable. It's supposedly fixed in Froyo.
     
    ckochinsky125 likes this.
  6. tats_06

    tats_06 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    27
    I hope so...cause this is my only gripe with fascinate. Everything else is perfect.
     
  7. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    I'm confused what you mean by having your apps downloaded and how that affects your RAM?

    Yes, the Fascinate has part of the RAM dedicated to the GPU.

    Yes, Android 2.1 has kernel-level memory addressing limitations.

    TouchWiz is sluggish and clunky, but far as I can tell it isn't due to RAM. No matter how much RAM I have free, it is still sluggish and clunky. Hopefully Samsung streamlines this with later patches/updates.
     
  8. tats_06

    tats_06 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    27
    See, I don't use touch wiz. I put Launcher Pro as soon as I turned this phone on. I am not sure, I may be confused....but I do think ram contributes to how well the phone runs. ;)
     
  9. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    As far as I can tell, Launcher Pro runs alongside TouchWiz, so TouchWiz is still taking up the resources necessary for itself + Launcher Pro's resources. That Launcher Pro can run alongside TouchWiz and still provide a smoother experience shows that TouchWiz needs help.

    Yeah, RAM helps, but even when I have almost everything on my phone running, I'm not really maximizing the RAM because of the way it is swapped in and out of RAM/ROM. Sure, I would gladly take more, but given what the OS has access to + the memory management; I don't actually feel like I *need* more.

    I'm hoping we see a pretty noticeable increase in efficiency with Froyo, as its memory management is supposed to be better. Plus we get the benefits of the new kernel.
     
  10. tats_06

    tats_06 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    27
    I hope either Froyo comes soon or custom roms. As long as it is acceptable for phone specs, I am good. Just wondered why other galaxys have 512 and ours is bit crippled. :D
     
  11. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    You guys might wanna look into AutoKiller from the Market. No its not a app killer its a memory management tool/app. It claims to help improvement both battery life and system performance. I got and have no complaints. Of course if you are not yet rooted I'd do that and apply the lag fix. Not a cure all but again it probably helps a tad and definitely does not make things worse
     
  12. carrottop

    carrottop Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    While I was in the Verizon store yesterday talking to them about the lag on my phone (they even agreed it looked to be lagging), they told me to take off Advanced Apps Killer (not sure if this was mentioned already) and that they just got a memo stating Fascinate users to do so. He said that feature was already "built in"?? Is that true.
     
  13. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    If he meant Advanced Task Killer then no its an app you can uninstall. When I bought mine the VZW kids were like "oh here lets put this on first you really need this." Now people are learning you dont you really really dont. To uninstall it or any app: Menu>Settings>Applications>Manage Applications then just find the one you wanna uninstall
     
  14. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    i think its the touchwiz on the phone. i loaded launcher pro and have ATK set to auto kill every hour. and it seemed to take care of most of the lag
     
  15. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    45
    Please don't start a thread confusing people when you have no technical knowledge of how memory works and how android manages it.
    Simple rules to follow
    1. Don't use any autokiller or task killer.
    2. Back out of the apps using the "back" soft key
    3. If you are worried about battery life, don't have so many widgets running on your screens.
     
  16. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    1. Yes
    2. Yes
    3. Yes and dont use the live wallpapers. That alone will signficantly increase your battery life. IMO, thats the number thing I did to increase battery life, more than keeping wifi off, bluetooth or anything
     
  17. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    45
    3. But Mario Wallpaper is SOOOO COOOLZ. J/K.
     
  18. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    :p I know I gotta admit I like it too. Battery life is good enough for me to have it on. But eventually the fad wears off. Nothing against live wallpaper or anyone that uses it. But if anyone did want a bit longer battery life; this is honestly the first stop I'd make
     
  19. tats_06

    tats_06 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    27
    I don't understand your reason for being rude....if you don't want to answer a question, just go on to the next thread. :eek:

    If you look at my posts, I have owned EVERY Verizon android phone. I have good knowledge about how system runs....to answer your points....

    1. I do not use ANY task killer and auto killers. Found that my phones run way better without them.
    2. That's how I always back out of apps.
    3. I haven't mentioned anything about battery life yet. I have had my fascinate for like three days and I don't feel that its sufficient time to judge battery life. And no I don't use live wallpapers either.

    Someone posted that fascinate has 512 ram but some of it is dedicated to gpu and only 384 shows as free...but even with that, system doesn't utilize all of it. This is planned to be addressed in Froyo. I just wanted a discussion going and may be this will get the right people's attention.

    Thanks everyone. :)
     
  20. 6spdtls

    6spdtls Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, you're right. Android 2.1 only allows to use only 325MB limited RAM, which will be fixed on upcoming froyo.
     
  21. chasemyaccord

    chasemyaccord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    May I ask for some clarification? Your first post seemed to imply that battery life will increase significantly, while the second one says it'll make it a "bit" longer. Just curious how much live wallpaper actually affects it. I keep mine on since I don't use the phone too heavily during the day and I can easily make it to bed without ever needing a charge.
     
  22. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    It all depends on how much your live wallpaper screen is on. In a case like your since you screen is rarely lit the difference would be smaller
     
  23. chasemyaccord

    chasemyaccord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ahh gotcha. Thanks for the clarification.
     

Share This Page

Loading...