Fast, crispy Froyo settings..


Last Updated:

  1. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    ..no, this is not a recipe thread. :D

    - KaosFroyo v27

    - Root Explorer used to remove unwanted apps

    - SetCPU used to overclock (gradually, over the course of 8 days of use)

    - Launcher Pro

    - Stock browser

    - Stock dialer

    - Stock messaging

    - JIT enabled in menu > settings > cyanogen mod settings > performance settings

    - apps2sd disabled

    - Animations all turned off in menu > settings > display

    - data back up and automatic restore enabled in menu > settings > privacy

    - text prediction turned off in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME mod > text input

    - spell correction enabled in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME > text input

    - word completion turned off in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME mod > text input

    - sound feedback turned off in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME > text input

    - vibrate when typing turned off in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME > text input

    - show candidates bar turned off in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME > user interface

    - space hack and smiley hack turned off in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME > user interface

    - voice input not used

    - gestures not used

    - prediction and dictionary not used

    - custom vibration set to 15ms in menu > settings > language and keyboard > HTC_IME > sound and vibration > custom vibration length

    - text to speech not used

    - keep in memory disabled in preferences (Launcher Pro) > general settings

    - 3 screens enabled in preferences > homescreen settings

    - trackball scrolling enabled in preferences > homescreen settings

    - number of docks set to 1 in preferences > dock settings

    - enable auto rotation enabled in preferences > behavior settings

    - hide notification bar enabled in preferences > appearance settings

    - disable wallpaper scrolling enabled in preferences > appearance settings

    - memory usage preset at moderate in preferences > advanced settings > memory usage settings

    - homescreen caches enabled in preferences > advanced settings > memory usage settings

    - homescreen cache type set to normal in preferences > advanced settings > memory usage settings

    - build caches as needed enabled in preferences > advanced settings > memory usage settings

    - clear caches on exit disabled in preferences > advanced settings > memory usage settings

    - prevent force closes enabled in preferences > advanced settings > memory usage settings

    - elastic scrolling disabled in preferences > advanced settings >

    - high quality scrolling disabled in preferences > advanced settings >

    - minimum scrolling speed set to 50 in preferences > advanced settings >

    - use 3D drawer disabled in preferences > advanced settings >

    - opening speed (of drawer) set to 7 in preferences > advanced settings >

    - opening speed (of previews) set to 7 in preferences > advanced settings >

    I've settled on an overclocked speed of 748/748 with a sleep profile of 528/528.

    I use Weather Bug Elite with no background data updates as I press menu > update each time I open the app.

    Syncing is done manually, no autosync enabled for gmail or calendar.

    The browser and all other caches are cleared in menu > applications > manage applications each night prior to shutting down and putting the device on the charger.

    ymmv ;)
     

    Advertisement
    htom likes this.
  2. ExcessiveIdling

    ExcessiveIdling Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I was half expecting to see at the end of the post "or just run xtrrom and dont tweak" lol:D
     
  3. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Good list Frisco. I've also noticed that upping the VM heap size to 24 MB helps keep the phone responsive. CyanogenMod Settings > Performance > VM Heap Size. I tried enabling compcache for a bit, but don't think that makes any difference that I can tell.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Good point about the heap size.. but I experimented with all settings, including that one, and could not detect a difference so I left it stock along with all other settings in that cyanogen menu.

    I wanted new users of this ROM to know where the JIT toggle is.
     
  5. Hercules

    Hercules Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    So do you now like this better than XTR? Is it comparable speed wise?
     
  6. Hercules

    Hercules Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    Also is there a reason you stayed on V27 instead of moving to 29?
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    xtrROM 3.03 is my default OS and will be as long as I have the Eris, I'm nearly certain.

    I'm sharing these settings because I noticed that with tweaks and time the Kaos v27 ROM really can perform just about the same as the xtrROMs do with one big caveat: my xtrROM is not overclocked. Leaving the 2.2 ROMs unclocked on the Eris is asking for a sluggish, less than pleasant user experience, in my estimation.
     
  8. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    There is absolutely no doubt that 710Mhz is minimum for KaosFroyo if you don't want lag. It is still not as fast as xtr, but I've really grown to like KF, and with the tweaks, the speed is more than adequate.
     
  9. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I agree; 710 was my max for a long time, but that little move from there to 748 seemed to put it in a better zone and with no big change in battery life that I can see (the other tweaks seem to help bring battery drain back to a reasonable range for me; no charging during the day ;)).

    I like the philosophy of Froyo; it is a step up for Android users on 2.1. We Eris users are fortunate to have these devs providing it for us.
     
    Hercules likes this.
  10. woofers02

    woofers02 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should really try KF v30 with AutoKiller set to strict. Snappiest yet.
     
  11. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I just flashed v30 over v27 with no wiping.

    It booted up and went into action seamlessly, allowing all of my settings and tweaks, etc.

    There was about a 90 second delay when the screen first came up, following coming off the lock screen, as it prepared the sd card and sought root permissions for the apps that needed that. Once that was done (about five minutes ago), it's been running fine as I go through the menus, etc (still haven't found the AutoKiller menu so I can set it the way the dev recommends).
     
  12. woofers02

    woofers02 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    AutoKiller should be in your apps list.
     
  13. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yep, discovered that a few seconds after posting here.
     
  14. ExcessiveIdling

    ExcessiveIdling Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    noticed in your tweak guide you had keep home/launcher in memory DISabled.....wouldnt you want that ENabled? Figure that would add to the overall snappyness of the rom?
     
  15. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Not needed, given the other speed tweaks.

    Memory is precious to me, amigo. I'm old. :D
     
  16. emunny

    emunny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    quick question how do i set launcher pro my default launcher cause every time i tried wouldnt work and when im using launcher pro ill be in a app or something i would hit home and it would send me back to adw any ideas?
     
  17. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    You're apparently not noticing the "set as default" check mark box at the bottom of the launcher choices prompt that comes up when you reboot.

    Also, I went ahead and cleared data and cache on ADW in applications > manage applications, then went into Root Explorer and deleted it.
     
  18. emunny

    emunny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok got it i knew there was a way just forgot how and home switcher wasnt working for me in this rom cause i kept trying to use that to set it as default but it wouldnt register appreciate it and how would i delete adw from root exp been wanting to do that for awhile now

    Love this FROYO ROM, this is how the eris should of been running
     

Share This Page

Loading...