• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

"Favorites" and "Albums"

Skyholder

Jun 20, 2010
I have lost the "favorites" in my phone. I don't see a separate "click" to reach them. Ya know? A long side the "group" Icon?

Also, can't find "albums" anywhere.
I'm brand new to the Droid, so these may be really simple questions to some.
I appreciate any help.
I did read the "User Manual", but it seems to tell me what to do once I've found these things, but not where to find them.
Thanks.

I hadn't noticed, but I believe the upgrade to Android 2.1 changed that. I assume you are talking about when you are in the People app, correct (page 69 of the users manual). 2.1 removed the Favorites icon at the bottom. Now you have to select Groups, and Favorites should be the 1st group listed.

You can create a widget or a folder on any home screen to see your Favorites:

Widget:
Longpress on an empty area of one of your 7 home screens. Select HTC widget, then People, select widget style 1 or 2, then select Favorites at the top of the list. You will need a lot of room, try it on an empty screen.

Folder:
Longpress on an empty area of one of your 7 home screens. Select Folder, select Starred. Done. To rename the folder, open the folder and long press the title bar at the top, rename and hit OK.

To delete these or any other widget, shortcut or folder... longpress the item and drag to the bottom of the screen. It will turn red when over the remove icon, release and it's gone.

-----

The album icons are still used when in the Contact Details screen (page 79 of the users manual) so I assume you mean your album (photos, downloads, etc)

Same as above:

Widget:
Longpress on an empty area of one of your 7 home screens. Select HTC Widget, select Photo Album, select the 1 style, select which album to display.

Shortcut:
Longpress on an empty area of one of your 7 home screens. Select Program, select Photos. Done