FC on helix launcher....help?


Last Updated:

  1. Ilphay

    Ilphay Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    First time poster here. Don't know too much about my phone other than it's awesome and the best piece of technology I've ever owned.

    I have helix launcher(the first one) and I wanted to get 5 screens instead of three so I went to configure it and took off all my widgets like it told me to do. It restarted and I got a FC notification. It's set as my primary home and I can't get the message to stop popping up. I tried restrting my phone several times but before I can press the home button or any button the message pops up again and there is nothing I can do. Is there anything I can do to get past this FC notification?
     

    Advertisement
  2. photog

    photog Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this happen to me as well going from 7 to 5. I am rooted, and I had to re-install the ROM to fix it. Not sure what to do if not rooted. You may have to take it to Verizon to reflash your operating system.
     
  3. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,213
    Likes Received:
    3,481
    My son had the FC loop, he was able to bring up settings (and clear the default on Helix) between FC's and uninstall it. He just kept pressing the menu key and eventually timed it right so he could get in. He then reinstalled it and it worked properly.
    I did not have this happen when I installed Helix, it worked flawlessly from the get-go.
     
  4. photog

    photog Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried the menu, but I guess I didn't keep at it long enough.

    Helix does normally work flawlessly.

    Here's what I think happens. We have widgets or shortcuts on several of the screens. For example, I was at 7 screens, but I wanted to see if it would speed up a little with 5 screens since I wasn't using the 2 on the outer edges.

    Let's say the screens are numbered 1-7 from right to left. When I was going from 7 to 5 I was hoping it would drop screens #1 and #7 since those were the screens I wasn't using. But I believe it always wants to keep screen #1. So when I tried to change it was wiping out screen #6 where I had shortcuts. When HL tried to reload it saw it had items on screen #6, but it was set for only 5 screens. That's how the loop happened I believe.
     
  5. MisterEff

    MisterEff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    9
    I was just about to say that but since you got it I can at least confirm it. Helix always removes screens from the right so make sure to take the shortcuts off of however many screens you want to get rid of on the right side.
     
  6. Jceinc

    Jceinc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    119
    I just uninstalled helix this morning because of all the FC's
     
  7. Ilphay

    Ilphay Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all that helped. I went to Verizon this morning and they reset it. I don't have any of my apps anymore but at least the FC loop is gone.

    Ilphay
     
  8. rmartin27

    rmartin27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    ILPHAY. Welcome to the forums. There's not a better place on the net than here...really gives FB competition. Oh, and thanks for the loan on the research paper.
     
  9. gregg098

    gregg098 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    You can always try safe mode:

     
  10. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    I am sorry that I didn't see this until now. The user Optimus posted what he did and it really saved my bacon. He used the keyboard to bring up the Search. Then he searched for Settings. If you execute that between FCs, it brings you to the Settings screen where you can go to the Application manager and uninstall Helix.

    I thought I was going to have to go to the Verizon store to get it fixed and I really hate going to the Verizon store.
     
  11. dmdroid

    dmdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    3
    Boy am I glad I found this thread.

    Downloaded Helix Launcher from the Market and it is running great...:D

    After you get it installed from your home screen, click on menue/configure/screen size, then select the number of screens you want. Then reboot. Just make sure if you reduce the number of screens back to like 5 you need to clear the two screens to the right. At least that is what other users have said. I can't imagine going to less screens after getting more.


    I've got seven yes seven screens.
     
  12. mohockey

    mohockey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. mohockey

    mohockey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1
     

Share This Page

Loading...