filter contacts with keypad... biggest issue with droid... for me


Last Updated:

  1. drwits

    drwits Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay...
    first...
    i love the droid. like totally completely am in love with it. kind of had my regrets when i heard about dragon/passion rumors but... i love the keyboard. after a week with it, i really like the layout.

    ONLY issue is that if i go to my "phone" or keypad... i can't start typing in a contact with the keypad and filter contacts that way (either by name with t9 or phone number). this is my favorite way of calling people. i hate that i have to either 1) go to my call log 2) go to contacts; have too many so really isn't very convenient at all 3) use search function which takes way too many steps cause you can't call directly from the search criteria... you have to open the contact first.

    i have been able to do this on every cell phone that i have owned (pda or not). and of course when we are able to root this badboy i will be able to do whatever i want to it (sense!). i have searched all over the forums on this... and i'm kind of surprised that i haven't found complaints about it yet.

    ? am i missing something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. just02

    just02 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not exactly what you're looking for but I think you may like it, somewhat... try going to the phone app and tapping the search button on the lower right. That will bring up the keyboard. :)
     
  3. eugkim

    eugkim Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was my big complaint as well. Superdial is a pretty good answer - made it like a regular phone. Will bring up contacts as you use the keypad.
     
  4. spike4405@yahoo.com

    spike4405@yahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try a program called Acontacts it has many diff options for looking up contact information
     
  5. drwits

    drwits Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the acontacts tip guys. It'll be a decent fix for now. I can't wait to get sense on this thing! Hope we can get the droid rooted soon.
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Super Dial is what I use for this - brings back the easy contact lookup that I had on the Blackberry...start typing a name and it filters your contacts to those that match, or just type a number and dial normally...other than some occasional lag it's very good.
     
  7. darth_cholo

    darth_cholo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    The search buttom from the home screen will fo this. That's what I use. I just disabled internet search. So it brings up contact and app matches only.
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Good point - I used to use that, and it works quite well. But the larger keys on the Super Dial keypad are quicker/easier for me to use than the smaller keys on the keyboard, found I made fewer errors as I was entering a name...
     
  9. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Just so you know, putting Sense on the DROID is going to be a pretty good task. ALL the .png's in the Sense UI need to be re-sized for the higher resolution, and we have to wait until HTC actually updates Sense to Android 2.0 (or 2.1 as I've seen). Although rooting the DROID is the first step its barely the half of it.
     
  10. drwits

    drwits Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha... my bad. I didn't even stop to think of the differing resolutions. Re: htc's progress in porting to 2.0... sounds like they are on their way!
    HTC Hero caught running Android 2.1? -- Engadget

    Dialer thing is still an issue and I'm sure many roms will address it.
     
  11. svtpickemup

    svtpickemup Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    @drwits,

    Dude,

    SuperDial. It does EXACTLY what you want. I was a BB user for years. This app fits the bill.

    You can have it replace the the built in dialer.

    The developer is super-quick to respond to any issues you have.
     
  12. mdevine

    mdevine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you limit the search to only contacts and apps. That would be great for me. Thanks

    Found it under settings- search. Thanks
     
  13. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Apps and contacts are always at the top of the search list anywa
     

Share This Page

Loading...