Finally did it!


Last Updated:

  1. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch! Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,181
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    So I finally decided to root my phone Friday, then while playing with it last night I arrived at the point of having to load a rom or use adb to remove the Sprint bloatware. Well after much deliberation I decided to load Fresh 1.1 and am loving it! My graphics are sharper, noticed most clearly on my lockscreen, which is the bullet hole in glass, and my programs list, before I could barely make out Achmed's face, now it is clear as a bell!

    I am currently at 10% on my up-time, battery I will have to watch a few days and see if I notice a difference since Sunday is a slow day on the phone for me.

    Things do appear a little snappier in some respects, other things have actually slowed a tad, but nothing bad enough to complain about.

    I loaded clear widgets, but with my wallpaper (Hokusai-The Great Wave) I could not read my calendar and other things due to the light colors, so I did a restore and was back to my fresh Fresh 1.1 easy as can be. Pre-Kitchen and Fresh 1.1 are awesome pieces of work, kudos!

    Now, if my wife will ever give me my truck back I can test the bluetooth functionality of Fresh 1.1!:D
     

    Advertisement
  2. skrillazoe

    skrillazoe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow. wtheck. I'm looking for a tut on how to root but can't find one. Well at least a good one. Last one I tried couldn't even flash my sd card
     
  3. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    unless I'm mistaken, there's a guide on the first page of this forum
     
  4. skrillazoe

    skrillazoe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea i just checked that. Thanks. I want to auto root it but he is saying that he is having problems with auto rooting Sprint HTC Hero w/ Google. So he wants me to flash it to 1.23. which Im not sure how to do. I'll figure it out. Thanks again :D
     
  5. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
  6. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    Congrats! Enjoy your HTC Hero with Fresh 1.1. ROM ..

    I bet you're feeling freshhhhhh!
     
  7. ndroid

    ndroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Omg!! i can say it now . . . I DID IT im feeling Fresh :) thanks to everybody for the great advices n step by step "how to do it"
     
  8. Twice

    Twice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0

    I can answer that! :D

    The first time you click the root button you have to check the box that says "with Google" (if you have a phone that says with Google obviously :) ) The autoroot program will flash it to 1.2.3. Then you have to do it again but this time NOT checking that box.

    I didn't read anything about not checking the box the second time and thought I'd done something wrong. The great people here set me straight. I felt incredibly stupid because the answer was so ridiculously simple but everything works and the stupid feeling has passed :D

    Good Luck!!
     
  9. gulu

    gulu Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    i rooted and now am using the fresh rom. I am not seeing the snapiness of the phone others are seeing. In fact the phone seems slower to me. My wife's is definitely slower now. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...