Finally got my Desire...


Last Updated:

  1. bigbob10

    bigbob10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    ...in black, off line and unlocked!!

    looks a million times better in black imo.

    but i do have a few questions though.

    the wifi is driving me nuts! i cant connect. it finds my sky wireless router (netgear). its asking me for a password...what the hell is it?? i dont use wifi at home (just Ethernet) can someone please help me?

    my brother has a desire and he has managed to connect his desire to my router and every time he comes in my room it connects to his phone automatically!!

    also, as i have orange software, what is the EASIEST way of getting rid of the orange shite and installing the normal apps that would come on a sim-free phone? i dont want to root or create stupid long files - just something nice and simple.

    also, what internet browser are you guys using?

    many thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    For the password try this: Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Product Help

    Step 4 would be the password you will type in the phone.

    You can unbrand the firmware by installing a generic firmware, but this process is akin to rooting. Don't know if you'd want to do that or not, there is a guide floating around somewhere here i think.

    I'm using the default browser, but dolphin HD is a good alternative.

    Have a read of my guide stickied in this forum, and enjoy!

    nb. The link to the browser on your homepage is a shortcut to the orange website, not a link to the application.
     
  3. azz

    azz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    20
    You don't need to root to get generic unbranded firmware. I don't it before, all you need to do is create a gold card and download the generic firmware . Look up hoe to create a gold card for desire .
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Yeah but i was trying to say the process is extremely similar to rooting, and he didn't want to do that.
     
  5. Dreckly

    Dreckly Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sky password should be on your router mate - if it was installed by the sky man that is, turn it over and on the label should be a 'Password' probably the middle of the 3 lines of text.
     
  6. Rew

    Rew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    18
    That router has MAC address filtering, if it's turn on you will need to add your MAC address to the router.

    As for the password, sounds like your brother has set a security password in the router (WEP/WPA) you will need to ask him what it is.
     
  7. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Just use the password on the sticker on the router.
     
  8. bigbob10

    bigbob10 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks guys - wifi now up and running!
     
    shawn1224 likes this.
  9. spamulike

    spamulike New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    how did you get past the password bit, im having the same problem:mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...