Finally rooted, and...


Last Updated:

  1. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    Sweet.

    I finally rooted my phone after much debating with myself. I did it last week after I realized that the Jan 22nd 2.1 was not coming. I flashed the most recent Bugless Beast ROM today that is set at 800mHz by default. No problems with the install.

    Couldn't be more happy. I didn't know the phone could move this fast. It's absolutely flawless so far. It feels like things are instantaneous compared to what I was used to before (and I though that was fast) and even the boot time is ridiculously fast.

    Love it. Kinda wishing I made this choice sooner.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    Im thinking about doing this right now! So with the ROM it comes overclocked?
     
  3. aneki

    aneki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    same boat, took me a while to decide to root. running the bugless beast as well, couldn't be happier. considered looking for a rom with live wallpapers, but i dont really think it would be worth it to sacrifice the speed. anyone recommend a good one with the wallpapers i could at least play around with? cheers!
     
  4. Droidmaniac

    Droidmaniac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just curious -- does it make web browsing faster, or does web speed rely solely on the provider?
     
  5. aneki

    aneki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1

    definitely seems a bit faster loading. smoother scrolling is the most noticeable change(web pages, app bin, home screens.) haven't had any serious heat change either after moderate use.
     
  6. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    Did you download SetCPU yet? It will let you set up certain profiles so the phone isn't always running that fast. Has a nice little widget as well. Also, I found the wifi app didn't come installed with the ROM, so you need to find it as well to take advantage of the tethering. I tried it out on my netbook and was getting ~750kBps, roughly dsl speeds, pretty nice.
    android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code
     
  7. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    I finally decided to root. I rooted and now I am trying to install SPRecovery and the commands just arent going through... What tutorial did you use for this?
     
  8. aneki

    aneki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    got the tether, awesome little tagalong to my asus eee. no setcpu, i figure as long as the temp doesnt start fluctuating too much id just as soon not have the processor speed jumping around all the time.
     
  9. aneki

    aneki Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1

    kinda had a few open, cant remember which one helped most. I did use DroidRootHelper to flash the recovery image(the newest version has SPr.99.0 or whatever the latest is,) which i cant find a good link to right now either. sorry im kinda useless right now, up too long. ill look around in the morning and check back.
     
  10. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Sholes.info provides a pretty comprehensive installation guide:

    Installation | Sholes
     
    stephejo likes this.
  11. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    4
    I used this one: From stock 2.0.1 >to> Sholes.info ROM..STEP BY STEP..NO ADB involved. NOOB CHALLENGE! - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    and then used the update.zip for Bugless Beast. I made the change to Bugless beast because I kept reading great things about it and they all turned out to be true. Here is the link to the new Bugless Beast 7.2 AllDroid - View topic - [ROM] Bugless Beast [800MHz & Wifi] V0.7.2 (1/30/10)
     
  12. esocid

    esocid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Are you gaining root access by typing 'su' first? Does your console start with $ or a #/block cursor?
     
  13. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks for the replies. So I have been using this guide and I have to type in the ADB stuff into the cmd.
    Custom Recovery Image - Root Your Droid
    I also used their guide to root the droid which was very simple.

    Can I use the update.zip from one guide and do the Custom Recovery Image from another guide?
     
  14. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    When using the cmd process my console starts with a $
     
  15. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    The version that I used (newest one, AFAIK) came with the WiFi Tether app already on there, although I haven't even bothered to try it yet. SetCPU is obviously there too so the speed can be changed.

    As for web browsing, yes it's definitely faster. Pages that have a lot of content load more quickly because they're being rendered more quickly, even if the connection speed is the same.
     
  16. cranky_dan

    cranky_dan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'd be very interested to know how the OCing affects your battery life...

    Dan
     
  17. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    I finally downloaded Pete's Bugless Beast... a few questions. Is there a tutorial on how to do tether? and how did you get the app for it?
     
  18. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    I've been taking my phone through the paces with bugless beast 0.7.2, tethering and talking and texting. So far so good. No significant change, probably due to the throttling thanks to SetCPU. I'm running the stock setting 125mhz/800mhz min/max, the "ondemand" CPU governor.

    I haven't done a full day's charge/discharge though, won't be able to have a standard day of use thanks to the snow in raleigh.

    The current release, 0.7.2, should include the app as far as I know. It's really straightforward once you get it, you basically just make an ad-hoc network from your computer to the droid's wifi broadcast. The app is very user friendly.

    Have you installed the rom yet?
     
  19. longdaddy

    longdaddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    i started to follow the tut on droidforums i got to step 20 and its saying /system/bin/flash_image not found what should i do now i kept trying intil i got mad and just close the terminal do i need to start over i need help! lol
     
  20. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    go back and retrace your steps - something did not take if it is not finding flash_image where it is supposed to.
     
  21. longdaddy

    longdaddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    i did that everything is on my card like the tut said
     
  22. longdaddy

    longdaddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    where can i get the flash_image the one in the tut didnt work so i downloaded one somebody posted at the end of the tut maybe its bad or something idk
     
  23. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    You mean the app should already be in my application drawer? What is the name of it?
     
  24. nader2013

    nader2013 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    21
    Are you sure you put the flash_image into the root of your sd card? And if you did I would delete the flash_image off of the root of my sd redownload it and try again.

    I rooted yesterday took forever, probably because I have NO Linux experience whatsoever... There was one part during the tutorial when it said something wasn't found I just kept going and everything worked out fine... Im a noob so i hope this helped a little.
     
  25. longdaddy

    longdaddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah was in the root of the sdcard where can I get the flash image at also I need someone to clarify if I will have to restart from the beginng or at step 20 and since u said something wasn't found and you kept going was it the flash image or something else
     

Share This Page

Loading...