Finally Rooted My Sprint HTC Hero!!


Last Updated:

  1. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    So, I finally decided to root my Sprint HTC Hero. My handset crashed for some reason and would not boot, so I figured while I had my hard cover pried off to pull the battery, I would give Z4Root a shot. Ironically, it worked without me having to pull my battery. Haha. :D

    Anyway, as I said, Z4Root worked great, but I after I installed ROM Manager, it keeps giving me an error about not being able to flash the recovery image. Am I doing something wrong here? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Go to the Bottom and flash Alternate Recovery.....
    This MAY be an issue with z4root.
    Or Try RA Recovery
     
  3. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    The alternate recovery IS Amon RA. Does it matter if use Amon RA or ClockworkMod? Oh, and do I have to get the Amon RA recovery myself, or does ROM Manager just provide it? I really rather just flash new ROMs in recovery and take ROM Manager out of the loop after I get a recovery flashed. :)

    I heard Amon RA was a bit more compatible with things. But then again, I hear lots of things. ;)
     
  4. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Cool - if that is the alternate....flash away -
    Yeah....i don't use rom manager ....well ever anymore.

    What Rom are you starting with.....welcome FINALLY to the dark side.
    :D:D
     
  5. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Yeah, I really only wanted ROM Manager for the recovery. Can I uninstall ROM Manager after I install the recovery image?

    I am going to start with the AOSP Android 2.2 ROM I think. I want Android 2.2 so bad and I want a pure experience. By the way, does it matter where I get the Google Apps to flash? Additionally, can I just download ROMs directly from the web browser and flash them that way instead of using a USB cable?
     
  6. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Yes....You can delete it. I keep it around...just in case.
    AOSP rocks.....tough starting with the best...nowhere to go.

    Yes....I hardly ever use my computer and USB - It takes a little longer but then you don't have to worry about moving it.

    Doesn't matter where you get google apps. AOSP has it right next to the rom....i'd use that one though.
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Ra Rocks, if you want to set RA up let me know I will walk you through the process, wait am I hearing right you finally rooted, HCat, you there are we on planet earth, or am I dreaming, LOL Congrats Bro on coming to the darkside

     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Congrats LB:D:D:D
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    rubs the sleep from my eyes

    Say whaaaaaaattt????

    pinches arm






    Shocked


    Congrats man, it's about time :D
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    The great part now is I am no longer allowed to be Hazed, now we go after him, yah baby :D:D:D:D:D:D

     
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Nah, he's been around longer, he's immune ;)All kidding aside, it's best to wait to root until YOU are ready. :)
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Damn I wonder if he blew his phone up, he roots and we have not seen in a couple of days now, I think the root devil got to him, LOL ;):p:D
     
  13. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Haha! I am alive, I promise, and thank you all. My Sprint HTC Hero is doing alright since the rooting process. I just got really busy at work and at home lately.

    I have not had time to flash a recovery image yet. I am still faced with the issue where ROM Manager will not flash the ClockworkMod recovery image. Should I just flash it through the alternate recovery selection in ROM Manager? Additionally, I see an Android 2.3 ROM is being worked on!
     
  14. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    YEAH MAN - Flash alternate recovery - RA Recovery -
    Thats what DonB Runs !
     
  15. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Okay, I will do it that way then. Then my understanding is to do a Nandroid backup, wipe the cache, data, and Dalvik cache, then flash the new ROM, and the Google Apps.

    By the way, I heard the AOSP Android 2.2 v9.8 ROM seems to be giving some people problems. Is this true and should I start out with the AOSP Android 2.2 v9.7 ROM?
     
  16. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Yes....Boot into Recovery .
    Nandroid - Backup.

    Then Wipe - wipe -
    Flash AOSPV.9.9.1 (all issues fixed) - Flash gapps - Flash VVM (if you use it)
    Reboot!
     
  17. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Oh yeah, about Sprint Visual Voicemail. My friend, who is also rooted, said that the Sprint Visual Voicemail app has this problem where it will send you a text every time you have a new voicemail waiting on a non-stock ROM.

    Is this true? That sounds sort of annoying.
     
  18. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Yes....BUT - You can download Handcent and blacklist the Number...stops it from happening.
     
  19. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Haha! That is what I told him to try and he said it did not work.

    So that worked for you? That is great!
     
  20. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Yes it works....You also have to turn off your native app Text app notifications.
     
  21. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    So, for those of you who use Titanium Backup, what is your normal process for backing up apps and data and switching ROMs? I have never tried Titanium Backup, but would like to easily be able to switch to different ROMs and retain my apps and settings.

    Can one use the backed up apps and settings between different ROMs, like for example, CyanogenMod 6.1 and AOSP Android 2.2? Thanks, in advance, for your help and advice.
     
  22. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Or you can use Youmail, it's free, customizable and save using your mobile minutes for checking your messages as you can either check it from the Youmail app or your email from your phone :)


     
  23. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Apps Yes.....Settings no - not between roms.

    DUDE - I just flashed back to stock to update my PRL......WOW.....What I thought was fine and Not laggy....was TERRIBLE!!!!! SO GLAD I ROOTED!
     
  24. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    So, I could not backup my POP3 email settings between ROMs then? Darn, that is a shame.

    Well, I will look into it anyway. Thanks.
     
  25. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    TB is great and easy, but you can also use Google to restore your apps automatically when flashing a new Rom and takes less than 5 minutes once they start downloading and installing depending how many apps you have. And yes once you have your apps backed up you can switch between ROMS and updates and they will restore with no issues


     

Share This Page

Loading...