Finally!!!General


Last Updated:

  1. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    I will be joining your ranks shortly. Just got off the phone my incredible will be here by the end of next week, they are shipping on the 11th. This gives me time to get my screen protectors, etc. Unfortunately, as a workaround to use my dad's upgrade for this, he needs to use it for a week before I can get it, but at least i can do a factory reset when its mine!!!
    Can't wait!
     

    Advertisement
  2. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Grats and welcome
     
  3. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    congrats!!!! ill see you around here more i hope
     
  4. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    definitely will. So my first question as I am trying to get everything set up is:

    1) should i create an account on appbrain as well, and use both that and the marketplace?

    2) What are some "essential" apps I should look into? (if you dont mind describing function as well)

    3) I already ordered two phantomskinz (screen only). got a nice discount code, so i got 2, just in case. Any other accessories I need?

    Thanks for the help everyone.
     
  5. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    1.yes use app brain save a lot of time

    2. i have so many i would say system panel and astro file manager ( no task killers thats what system panel is for)

    3. maybe a battery if needed
     
  6. mched

    mched Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    27
    Congrats!!!
    You will love it!!
     
  7. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Systempanel is a must :) best thing around, yeah defo make an account on Appbrain its awesome.

    Essential apps, it really depend on what you like.

    1. Google Sky Maps is a good one to show off.
    2. Barcode Scanner I use alot
    3. Astro or Estrong File managers are a must, I prefer estrong.

    other then those Really just browse Appbrain, and use the Hot Apps section to see what people are installing and decide whether or not you like them :)

    Enjoy it, as you can always uninstall what you don't want :)
     
  8. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    yea all i did was look at the hot apps ever other day and read and see if i needed them and thanks contagous i forgot barcode scanner and sky map even though iphoney has that now too
     
  9. killadanny

    killadanny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    102
    Congratulations :) Looks like the phones arent being delayed by a month now, its better for us, the more the merrier.
     
  10. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    46
    I've used my mother's upgrade twice (since she's not really a tech person :p), and she never had to 'use it for a week'.

    Are you on a family plan? Maybe that's the difference. When I talked to the sales rep when I was buying my incredible, he said there's no problem with using an upgrade credit for a different line.
     
  11. Stam2000

    Stam2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Same here. I activated it on my dads line then reactivated his old phone. Then you can activate it on your number. Once its activated it releases the esn off the phone so you can do whatever you want with it
     
  12. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    yeah I am on a family plan, and i am not eligible, but my dad is. So do i NEED it active on his line for a week do you think or can I just activate, go back later that night, and then put it on my line?
     
  13. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    You can activate it then activate it on yours :) they dont usually care, as long as it gets activated at least once on the account its from.
     
  14. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    One more thing. This may sound stupid, but I have a friend who uses Handcent, which I have heard great things about. He says it's free to use, but I feel like I heard somewhere you have to pay per text, even if you have unlimited text on your plan.
    Can anyone clarify?
    Thanks
     
  15. killadanny

    killadanny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    102
    No, its just another way of sending messages just like the HTC Messages app :)
     
  16. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    Ok, so i will download that as well when the phone arrives. Thanks guys!
     
  17. killadanny

    killadanny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    102
    Yeah and Handcent offers a lot of customization too :D
     
  18. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yup, so I have heard. So you guys think if I do the activation where I call the *228 or whatever, then bring it in, deactivate, and activate on mine, i'll be able to use it immediately?
    My dad is worried because he doesn't want to have to pay full retail if they wouldnt let us reassign the phone too soon?
    I am kinda confused as well, as you can probably tell
     
  19. gvillager

    gvillager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    53
    You don't need to have it active on his line for a week. You have to activate it on his line first to accept the terms and conditions of the contract renewal since your using his upgrade. Immediately afterwards you can reactivate his old phone on his number and then your free to activate the Dinc on your line. All of this can be done online, there no need to call customer service or go into a store.
     
  20. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    I've never done an activation online or over the phone, how do I do it online?
    Thanks
     
  21. FramCire

    FramCire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    173
    If you dad doesn't have a data plan, you may not want to activate on his account at all. When you get the phone just ask them what to do. I dont think it will be a problem activating it on your line right away.

    Also, (I doubt this is the case), but if your dad's current phone was from Alltel (before they were bought out), Verizon will not be able to reactivate it, so your plan is not good. As I said, chances are this doesnt effect you, but I thought I would mention it.

    Anyway, once it hits your line..... have fun. App Organizer is a nice app to classify your apps and put folders on home screens for quick access.(I would have said appbrain and astro as must haves).

    Handcent is cool. When you have a popup notification of an SMS, you can hit a button to have text to talk read it to you....a think its fun,
     
  22. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
    He currently has a blackberry storm, which he hates lol, so I am trying to get him to NOT get the DInc for a week cause he may like it too much. If we go into the store, I may just try to activate on my line, because IMO, if I ordered it over the phone, how will they know which line it's for?
     
  23. crazydog

    crazydog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    46
    You don't even have to activate it on his line. Like I said, I used two upgrades not for my line, and I activated them to my line right away, and there was no problem.
     
  24. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    28
  25. gvillager

    gvillager Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    53
    I did the same thing and got charged full retail 3 months later. They said I never accepted the terms and conditions of the contract renewal which it never asked me to do upon activation. Go figure...

    It was a big mess but I got it straightened out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...