Firerat custom memory MOD.. free up space!


Last Updated:

  1. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    hi everyone...

    i was told about something new today... and it is so great!!! I have to highlight it.. so others can see it too.

    I have a Hero CDMA, rooted, AOSP Froyo ROM and always having memory issues. Low memory.. makes my hero sluggish. I have tried many other ROMs too.

    I was told about Firerat Memory custom MOD. it was initially designed for the G1. And Foo_Blyat over on XDA tried it on the HERO and it worked.

    how it works...
    there are 3 areas that use up the Memory that the phone has: internal Storage, System storage, and cache.

    the phone just splits memory for the 3 parts:
    storage 190 mb;
    systems 170mb;
    cache 130mb;

    I installed Quick System Info so that I can see what I have:
    It says that my phone has...
    system storage:
    total 170mb; free 101mb
    System Cache:
    total 130mb; free 120mb

    this free space is wasted space!!!!!! nothing can use it!!!
    Firerat was able to combine all the wasted space into the storage memory! WOW!

    I started with 45 mb free with all my apps loaded.
    NOW I have 255mb free. no kidding!

    [MOD][RECOVERY] Firerat's Custom MTD Partitions (resize Data,System and Cache) - xda-developers

    i wanted to share this with all of you... so you might want to try this on other devices that have small memory issues. Of course I would recommend a Dev.. look into it first for each device.

    I am very happy with it.

    good luck!
     

    Advertisement
    JB in AZ likes this.
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    This should be posted in the rooted section!!
     
    JB in AZ likes this.
  3. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Yeah, I think you are right! Thx!
     
  4. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    i got this to work except now i can't get texts. i've tried on different roms cm6 asop with no luck. help please
     
  5. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    I heard about this mod too and I was really curious about it. Would this work on Android 2.2 ROMs too or only Android 2.1? :)

    It is kind of funny that all that space is unused and basically wasted. You would that would be streamlined out of the box. ;)
     
  6. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    you should post your question in the original thread that I posted. there are more experienced folks that can help you.

    yes.. this mod will work with 2.2 ROMs.
    I am currently running aospmod 09.9.1 which is a Froyo ROM. I have seen many other ROM used too!
     
  7. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    where is your original thread?
     
  8. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    the link on post #1... it is link to where I found the info.

    is it not visible to all???????
     
  9. huffman6977

    huffman6977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    duh sorry just stressing i guess. i text alot lol
     
  10. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
  11. SupraEA

    SupraEA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    13
    Did it. It was pretty easy, did it all through recovery menu by just flashing. Made my internal memory to 330mb.
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Now lets see if you notice a difference in performance, let us know, you should also post your process for others to try


     
  13. SupraEA

    SupraEA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    13
    This is what I did...im doing this from my phone, so it might look a little weird.
    first I downloaded two zip files from this xda thread :
    forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=717874
    the files are at the bottom of the original post, they are : FR- recovery -v1 .5. 3-
    CustomMTD _ S .zip and FR -boot -v1 .5.3 -
    CustomMTD _ S .zip

    1. add both files to root of sd card
    2. create a .txt file on root of memory card. name it "mtdpartmap.txt" . inside it, type in " mtd 102 2" and save it. this part varies for different roms, the link to the xda thread in the original post of this thread explains what to do for different roms. I am using aosp .9.9.1
    3. I did a nandroid and titanium back up
    4. I rebooted to recovery mode
    5. did a full wipe...copied from donb
    Full Wipe Means
    CWM Recovery
    Wipe data/ Factory Reset
    Wipe cache partition
    Advance/ Wipe Davlik cache
    Partitions Menu/ Format Boot
    Partition Menu / Format System
    6. I installed zip from sd "flashed " : FR- recovery -v1 .5. 3-
    CustomMTD _ S .zip
    7. then I flashed my aosp rom and gapps
    8. then I flashed FR -boot -v1 .5.3 -
    CustomMTD _ S .zip
    9. rebooted and everything worked fine.
    ...I tried to do a nandroid restore for step 7, but it did not work for me. I had to flash the rom.

    everything is working fine on my phone...nothing noticeably different, except the extra couple hundred mb of memory :)
     
    DonB likes this.
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Well done bro, some will find this post handy for them wanting to add this Mod to there phone


     
  15. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    doing it this way.. I have see others that have success..
    some have issues...

    other way.. is more solid


    this is my favorite mod!!!!
     
  16. SupraEA

    SupraEA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    13
    So I've been modded to this for about 3-4 days now and I love it. I always thought I didn't need more space, since I didn't use to many apps. It turns out I was just telling myself that since I didn't have the space to download a bunch of apps. I find myself getting apps and not worrying if I have the space for it. The apps run so smoothly when they are not off the sd card. So yea, I recommend this mod. It's working for me
     
    DonB likes this.
  17. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    3,222
    i find it improve the phone over all... for lag and force closed issues.

    before the mem available for running apps was very low... 9 - 40 MB free.
    in this range.. the phone was a turtle;
    and if it tries to run 2 apps at the same time.. snail going uphill.

    now, because I have so much space free... there is more mem to run apps. it is 50 - 90 MB free. My Hero is now very quick and able to multi-task very well.
    I can play Pandora music.. type a text on Handcent... and not lockup if I get an in-coming call!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    just awesome!
     
  18. SupraEA

    SupraEA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    13
    it took me forever to flash this latest gingerbread aosp rom with firerat mod. I kept getting stuck on the white HTC screen.
    there is really good instructions on this wiki on how to set it up, follow them exactly.
    romrepo.info/wiki/index.php?title=Main_Page
    If you did firerat mod with another rom, your mtdpartmap.txt file might have changed to "mtdpartmap.txt.txt" . you have to delete the last .txt of the name. it took me two days to figure that out. the numbers i used inside are "135 2". you can still go a little smaller. I have about 350mb of internal memory. I'm using the latest 3.0 clockwork recovery with orange text.
    Another piece of useful information that I didn't know is that all you have to do is flash your recovery again, and you will get rid of firerat mod.
     
  19. boblo

    boblo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    23
    why isnt my market working?
     

Share This Page

Loading...