firmware update before galaxo?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Alonzzo2

    Alonzzo2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi, quick question:

    do i need to update my firmware to II5 before flashing the galaxo rom?
    i noticed the instructions mention copying the II5.tar file to the sdcard, but do i need to update my firmware before starting with the 'flashing galaxo rom' procedure?

    thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    yes
     
  3. buntoid

    buntoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    2
    I asked the same question on another site:

    samsung i7500 galaxy - Dan Dascalescu's Wiki

    and he said you didn't need to update to II5 first as long as II5.tar is on the sdcard.

    Is this correct?
    or do think it would be prudent to update first?
     
  4. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    You need an I5 base flash to use galaxo.
     
  5. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    you need to flash on ii5 first, the II5.tar is purely for the gapps restore
     
  6. Sentenced

    Sentenced New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems that Galaxo doesn't include the baseband firmware, so you need to have I5 installed if you want to use that baseband version.

    I didn't know this, so I had to flash the baseband afterwards with Odin. This can be done by creating a .tar file containing I5's amss and flashing it as one package.

    Though even without the new baseband version, my Galaxo worked just fine with H8 baseband.
     
  7. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yeah with the new version he extracts the II5 tar over system so you dont technically need to have odin'd II5 first.

    I would suggest you still do it tho, because the partition system on the galaxy is really wierd. If you do a factory reset at any point, you'll end up with a royal mess!
     

Share This Page

Loading...