• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Firmware Update Problems for Galaxy Y

KPKR

Lurker
Mar 16, 2012
Hi Droids,

I've been using the Galaxy Y since the last 4 months and i love it :) But im facing problems when i try to update the firmware. I'm still using the firware that i got with my phone. I've never tried to tinker with the phone(root etc.,).

I've tried to update the firmware in December using Kies but was unsuccessful. And now my phone is giving me problems like repeat messages, switching off in spite of have enough battery charge. I want to update the firmware now but its not getting updated.

There seems to be some sort of a connection error where once the update starts Kies loses connection with the phone and the update fails. I've heard that other people have also faced similar problems.

I've read this thread and have tried re-installing kies(installed latest kies software), pulling the cable and connecting it after the update starts but nothing is working.

Did anyone else face similar problems my pc is running windows7? There are a few screenshots of the process if anyone wants them i'll upload them

Hi Thanks for the suggestion.. I used GPRS to update the firmware.. There were about 4-5 updates but im still stuck with GINGERBREAD.DDKL2 and BASEBAND S5360DDKL1and there is this 11.52 MB update that is not getting installed. The installation freezes at 0% and the phone reboots normally without installation after the download. And i get a message to use either Kies or to go to a Samsung Service Center.

Any chances this can be resolved without me having to visit a service center?

Upvote 0
^^ I dont think its a network problem.. Its seems to be a problem with the update.. Cos I've seen the download happening from 0 to 100%. I dont have access to wifi thats the problem.

But i guess Samsung should have given us proper desktop software instead of the extemely buggy and slow Kies.