• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Firmware?

When I hit the update button on my vibrant it states "no Firmware" but when I check under about phone is shows that the firmware is 2.2. I bought this phone from someone selling it on CL and they said they put a custom Rom on it,Will this cause any problems? Also I can't delete their GMAIL account from the phone, Does someone know how I can do this?? It asks for password and they won't give it to me. This is my first time on here, so Sorry if I have done anything wrong.

I know that doing a factory restore will get the phone back to its original "out of the box" settings including deleting g-mail logins. However, I would not recommend it unless you know exactly what the original owner did to it as installing a custom Rom deletes the original operating system. I would recommend contacting the seller to find out exactly what he did and then proceed from there.

Go to settings>about phone and post what your firmware version and build number are, you should be able to proceed from there.

Reactions: RDH64
Upvote 0
I have tried to do the Factory reset thing and it didn't take the Gmail account off, Also I went to a T-Mobile store and they even tried a Hard Reset and it didn't do anything either, not even take it back to the original program. This is the Build number is Axura 2.0.5 and under firmware is states 2.2 the kernel version is 2.6.32.9 What should I do now?? I was thinking about Rooting the phone (which the seller said it was but it really isn't) and putting another Custom Rom on the phone. Would this be good??

Upvote 0
The factory reset won't work because you aren't running stock, you're running Axura, a custom Rom. You'll need to get it back to stock; I'll see if I can locate the thread with the stock files. Once you've got it back to stock, you should be good to go, then can re-root and reinstall any custom roms you'd like.