• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help first smart phone, battery help

Smoothpanda

Dec 28, 2010
hello this is my first smart phone so I'm really new to this
, the battery fire my phone dies after about seven to nine hours of texting, and some moderate web browsing.I've fine alot of the recommended things to do to save battery like turning off the brightness shutting off un used apps turning off gps bluetooth and so on .but even after all of that I still get about nine hours.I've heard that 'rooting' can help with the battery it's this true? And does anyone have any other tips on how to save battery?
Thanks

Welcome to the forums, smoothpanda.

Constant texting on an Android device wears battery life down rather quickly as compared to some other devices, I've noticed. I had Blackberries before my first Android phone, and I'd say the battery life on those was better.

Android phones have a lot to do.. and a full day's use is about it for the batter. There are some measures a user can take, of course, such as using static (non-live) wallpapers, syncing things like Facebook, gmail, weather, etc manually rather than having them set to autosync, having the screen brightness tweaked to the lowest setting you are comfortable with, etc.

There are a lot of posts and articles about this subject, here's one:

How to Save Battery Power on an Android - wikiHow

Good luck, have fun! ;)

Upvote 0