First time root: flash_image not found


Last Updated:

  1. big_z

    big_z Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trying to root for the first time; I ran the one click root app I got from here:

    [APP] [ROOT] 1-click root for N1 (Latest ver: 1.6.2 beta 5) - xda-developers

    and it said it was successfully rooted. I can execute su from adb shell (and the phone pops up saying that unknown has been granted superuser). But I don't have flash_image in /system/bin so I can't flash a recovery image, and I tried the instructions in the link in this post:

    http://androidforums.com/sprint-her...ng-bootloader-flash_image-recovery-image.html

    (basically download the flash_image, mount system as rw, and push it in to /system/bin)

    but it still doesn't work. The mount seems to work (doesn't give any error messages) but the adb push command gives:
    failed to copy 'flash_image' to '/system/bin/flash_image': Permission denied

    I have:
    Firmware revision 2.1-update1
    Build number 2.27.651.6 CL 169236 release-keys
    Software number 2.27.651.6

    Does anyone have any advice? Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. big_z

    big_z Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    57
    Well, after downgrading to 2.27.651.5 and re-rooting I was able to access flash_image to get recovery loaded. Am now running Cyanogen 6. I'm not ready to say something like "it's a whole new phone" yet, but if nothing else I do like that I (or rather, my keys and USB drive in my pocket) can't unlock my phone anymore by pressing menu twice.
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Glad you got it figured out!!
     
  4. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Time to resurrect an older thread because of my curiosity. I am asking this only for my information really as I know I can just flash to a custom ROM and flash_image will be there anyway, but here goes. :)

    I flashed back to my stock Android 2.1 ROM and decided I wanted to try flashing the latest ClockworkMod Recovery version 3.0.0.5 image using Terminal Emulator, so I did the correct commands and whatnot, and lo and behold, flash_image is not found. So, I did some research and found a thread at XDA about copying the flash_image binary into the system directory using Terminal Emulator, which can be found here: [GUIDE] Flash any recovery easily on the phone using flash_image - xda-developers . My question is, will this work for a Sprint HTC Hero rooted using Z4Root, as it says it requires a S-OFF status? My other question is, can I use any flash_image binary for this or is there a Sprint HTC Hero specific one? I know this is all probably entirely unnecessary, but I like tinkering. :D
     
  5. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Heretic - Bootloader DOES Require S-off

    But you can Flash using Method 2 from the Wiki and rom manager...
    or just go S-off!

    Flash_image is not in AOSP roms.....but you can find it in CM6 Roms.
    Shouldn't have anything to do with z4root
     
  6. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Thanks for the knowledge, man. I may go S-OFF someday, but it is not really necessary in this juncture of my rooting experience. :p

    By the way, does Liquid Sense 2.1 have the flash_image binary installed? Are you S-OFF, by any chance, and how hard is it to pull off? :)
     
  7. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    Liquid Sense should have it.
    FYI - Be sure to update your Radio to .29 BEFORE (if you haven't done it)

    S-off is VERY easy to do. To method Regaw's is permanant the other can be undone if desired.
     
  8. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    I have not updated my radio yet. Not that I am challenging your words and just for my edification, but why would that need to be done first? ;)

    I am just curious. I will look into the non-permanent S-OFF solutions. :)
     
  9. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    460
    The Radio Flashable Zip won't work with the new Recovery -
    Again...you can do it via s -off with a Herocimg but....its easier just to do it first.
     
    LBPHeretic likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...