• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

First Time Smartphone User...Recommendations?

harmonyLGS

Lurker
Apr 4, 2011
Hey guys,

I'm planning to get an Android, and I've never used a smartphone before. I'm currently using a non-smart phone, and use a very old ipod nano for my music. My carrier is T-mobile, and I'll be renewing my contract (which is part of a family plan)

I'm considering getting an android, but was wondering how it's quality is as a music player, as I'll mostly by using my prospective android as mostly a dual phone/music player. Since I'm planning to listen to music a lot on the android (since I have 1 hr bus rides to school each way), I was wondering how the battery life would hold up, if I'm using it as both music player and a phone?

Additionally, are there a lot of differences between the different android phones in terms of audio quality and ability to play music? And if so, which android phone would be the best in terms of being a music player? I've been trying to search for information on this, but I keep only finding results on differences btwn android music apps, which isn't really my question.

Lastly, I was wondering about how much data plan would be enough? Currently, T-mobile seems to offer either $10/mo for 200 MB, or $30/mo unlimited. Since I'm a first time smartphone user, I'm not sure how to gauge how much data I would need. Due to the android phone's ability to connect to wifi, and I'm mostly at home or at university where there's wifi, I wouldn't be connecting to the internet too much outside of using wifi. However, I heard that even if I'm not actively using email or internet on my phone, it's still uses up the data. So, my question is..would 200 MB/mo be enough for me, and exactly how much is 200 MB/mo?

Hope my questions get answered..thanks!