First time trying to Root


Last Updated:

  1. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I plan to root my htc hero (sprint) with this method, [GUIDE] How to Root Sprint 2.1 Release for CDMA Hero - xda-developers

    Question is once that is done do I need to put a custom rom on my phone, or will the stock rom be able to do what it was made to do, like put apps on SD card, over clock, wifi hot spot? Those are the 3 things I want to root my phone fore. Oh, and to get rid of bloatware!

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    yes and no. you can run wifi tether on sense, as well as any other "root only" app. As far as apps to sd, i dont believe so. (someone correct me if im wrong) I think the ability to move apps to your sd card is actually a froyo thing, and flashing a 2.2 based ROM is the only way to do that. You will also need a ROM for overclock.

    If you really like sense, there are a number of sense based roms, that basically just put sense on a diet and get rid of all the sprint bloatware as well as add a few things here and there. Fresh is a rom built like that. Ive never used it but heard great things on here and xda about it. With something like Fresh, yes, you can overclock and you can run wifi tether
     
    doesgo and cordell like this.
  3. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK Thanks, I will try the root here in a few minutes. I have never flashe a phone, but I used to flash satellite receivers to steal provider programing :) So I think I can manage doing it, lol I hope anyway! I will root, leaving sense on and go from there. Ultimately I will flash a custom rom, I want to over clock and app to SD. This in my 3rd sprint hero, I keep filling them up and you just cant get them to act the way they did out of the box after that without starting over. I am tired of starting over with the phone, memory leaks, the blocking of wifi tethering, basic sprint BS. Before the hero I had the instinct, what a joke!
     
  4. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, I have superuser! Now that I have that must I download more to make my hero a wifi hotspot? I tried to check the share internet connection setting but it still dont let me, grrrrrr
     
  5. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yes, search wifi tether in the Market.
     
  6. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    After you wipe, you must choose flash zip. Make sure the zip file is on your SD card and not in any folders.
     
    cordell likes this.
  8. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    It doesnt give me that option though... I will double check that it is not inside any folders, but I dont think it is. Nope, just Fresh-hero file, still zipped. A footprints folder, a rosie_scrol folder, and a lost.dir folder are on the card as well. I am going to delete them and try again.

    after i clear storage the only option i get is <menu> reset device

    the phone just boots back to htc like i just took it out of the box, grrrrrrrr!

    well not straight out of the box because it saves my number, i just have to resign in with google. but all apps i installed are gone besides superuser...
     
  9. cordell

    cordell Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    I Flippin did it!!!!! The droid guy danced for a bit then screen went blank and he came back saying FRESH and danced a bit more then it went black with FRESH wrote on screen, a few minutes later I was signing into Google!!! AWESOME!

    I used Rom Manager and it worked fine, once I used their recovery file instead of my own, LOL.
     

Share This Page

Loading...