Fix coming for Froyo audio issues


Last Updated:

  1. Reaver

    Reaver Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    65

    Advertisement
  2. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    nice. hopefully somebody can make an update.zip for this on our 2.2 roms.

    it'll be nice to be able to listen to the 800 or so songs i have on my internal memory that are in AAC+.
     
  3. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Easy enough to compile, not sure it will work with our current leaks though.

    Maybe :)
     
    jasonb1985 likes this.
  4. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    I will work on this. Maybe someone will beat me to the punch.

    I am ok with that :D
     
    jasonb1985 likes this.
  5. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    well get on it man!!!

    i know you can do it! you can make it happen. :D
     
  6. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    I've no doubt I can compile it. Just whether it will work with our HTC stuff.
     
    jasonb1985 likes this.
  7. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    gotcha.
     
  8. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    i'll help test it for ya if you need.... i aint afraid to do a million nandroid backups, or restores i should say.
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Ok :)

    Downloading the specific source now.
     
    jasonb1985 and contagous like this.
  10. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    sweet!! :D

    this would be so awesome. i would like all my audioz back, and i really can't believe google would ef up our audio. i figured this was just a result of these leaks being just that, leaks. but to hear the Droid and Evo have this bug in the official build is not good to hear. maybe this will be fixed in our official build, maybe that's why we don't have an official OTA yet. very disappointing though as my phone gets used more for music playback than anything else.
     
  11. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
  12. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    the patch kinda works, but it's not 100%.

    i have about 800 songs stored on my internal memory that were ripped from CD's using Winamp into 64kbps AAC+ and they sound terrible now. on 2.1 update1 they sounded just about as good as they did on the CD, now they sound like they are missing a whole layer. they are unusable in their current state. i applied this patch and it didn't fix everything.
     
  13. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    ok thanks. My audio seems to be fine but I did notice one problem that is just pissing me off. On 2.1 when I was listening to music and using NAV the NAV directions would pause the music, give the directions, then continue to play the music. Now it just pauses the music and never turns it back on. I have to open the app and hit play. Would really really really like a fix for this.
     
  14. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    I have no guarantee this will do that.

    Don't keep refreshing this thread, hoping I have posted a test fix. I am downloading the entire froyo source, and my DSL sucks. It won't be for quite a while; maybe even tomorrow.
     
  15. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Source downloaded, currently compiling a generic build. Go go quad core desktop!
     
  16. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    Cool. When I get the time to code and compile, my quad dual core machine gets the call.
     
  17. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    BaadAndy and drPheta like this.
  18. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    So I tried it. It appears to work.

    Don't forget to put Pandora on HQ.
     
  19. Eris Lover

    Eris Lover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    16
    does it need to be re enabled in the build.props file if we have changed it?
     
  20. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Yes.
     
  21. drPheta

    drPheta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    95
    Rebooting now... thanks adrynalyne!

    EDIT:
    Seems to sound cleaner.
    Adrynalyne, maybe add a clean build.prop file with the market fix and 32M VM heap? Makes it easier for most people who don't know how to edit the build.prop file

    Guys, don't forget to test it using 3G. Disable your WiFi. So:

    1. Change your build.prop so that all stagefright lines =true
    2. Enable High Quality in your Pandora preferences
    3. Test this with 3G data only.


    EDIT 2:
    Don't know what everyone's results are, but my streaming music sounds spot on with my mp3 files.

    Tested the same exact songs via pandora and .mp3 file on my phone, and did the same with Slacker. No more music from a tunnel sound. All over bluetooth to my car stereo, headphones, and directly plugging to my car stereo. Lastly, m.youtube.com works again in all my browsers. Even listening to Pandora in Normal mode sounds good.
     
  22. BaadAndy

    BaadAndy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    6
    It rocks Thanks I can never say it enough man!
     
  23. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    67
    good job once again!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...