Fix for leaked version!Support


Last Updated:

  1. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14

    Advertisement
    brushrop03 and teky like this.
  2. 84guy

    84guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    46
    dang i think we posted at the same time lol.
     
  3. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
  4. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14
    no, press volume up and then power button.
     
    stainlessray likes this.
  5. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    i'm asking what is supposed to happen when I do that? because my screen goes black
     
  6. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14
    turn the phone off and then do it
     
    stainlessray likes this.
  7. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    I am eternally grateful for your rapid responses. I have another question though:

    1 If I enable USB Debugging before I turn the phone off, will it remember that upon startup? (when using this method to start hboot)

    pardon my noobishness, please. I am not stupid, but I want some confirmation on these things before I start (and am aware that these questions probably seem annoying to someone who knows the answers)
     
  8. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14
    I dont know. Dont worry about it though. Just follow the instructions above and it will work.
     
  9. ericshmerick

    ericshmerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    40
    I'm just gonna wait a day or so for HTC to fix it.

    No sense in urgently trying to go from .3 to .6 - unless you have OCD.
     
  10. rdnckgurl

    rdnckgurl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    34
    yep confirmed, i just done mine :)
     
  11. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    my phone is turned off, i have the .exe file. i'm just gonna wait and make sure i know what's what.
     
  12. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14
    basically you need to go into the bootloader to change it to USB. The file is an HTC program that will flash the phone.
     
  13. ericshmerick

    ericshmerick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    40
    Not to be a jerk, but why mess with all of this if you have .3? What's the benefit, as the .6 just consists of minimal changes that don't affect anything at all?

    Me? I'm only comfortable with whatever HTC releases in a few days. I want my .6 to be fully updatable in the future.

    No more hacking around with bootloaders, etc. Just not worth it unless someone has gingerbread or something.
     
    VGPOP and stainlessray like this.
  14. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    IDC if it's released by HTC or not. but, I'm not a freakin guinea pig. when this stuff happens, if it's legit, there will be NO question. as of now, there is nothing but questions. until i see someone that I trust, post that this works, i am standing pat
     
  15. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14
    This is a fix from HTC that was sent to the Sprint store. Chill out.
     
  16. mvaughn12

    mvaughn12 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just installed in and it works like a DREAM!!!!
     
  17. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Nice one man! I'm gonna wait for now...(though I'm downloading this file) and see if HTC can get a sane upgrade path to us...but it's great to know I have this option and it's been confirmed to work. No way was I going to turn my precious, perfect EVO over to the grubby hands of an under paid tech at the Sprint Repair Center and lose the use of my phone for a full day. Thanks again!
     
  18. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    I know where it came from. don't think i don't appreciate your help. i do. i spent 10 minutes waiting to see additional responses to the thread on XDA, and nothing showed up. so i'm waiting. more are showing up now but, it's taking time. you have to understand, there is no reason for me to rush, my evo is working flawless. i want to be with the mainstream, but not at the cost of my phone.

    if that were what i wanted, i'd have taken it to a sprint store, and let them F%^& it up.
     
  19. leastbay

    leastbay Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    14
  20. teky

    teky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    120
    Oh yeah...it's got it's own thread at XDA and has been confirmed now, just like it has here...like you, I'm going the more cautious route and seeing what HTC comes up with...no rush, since .3 has been perfect for me. I just want to make sure I get to .6 so I can pick up future upgrades, like you:

    Pojoman vs. HTC - The race of the "delayed" 2.2 software fix. - Page 14 - xda-developers
     
  21. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    and, this obviously does NOT work for people on a MAC computer, so, those of us will just wait for HTC to release something OTA..,3 works perfectly anyway; this is just something to ensure FUTURE upgradeability
     
  22. brushrop03

    brushrop03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    35
    Make sure you back everything up
     
  23. zombdroid

    zombdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    96
    SD Card too? I am guessing this is a wipe and not an upgrade, correct?
     
  24. blkhwkz

    blkhwkz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes it wipes the phone but not the SD Card....I didn't have to do any of the stuff in post 1 to install it either. Plugged my phone in, ran the exe and it installed fine. No turning on USB debugging or hboot. Took only a few minutes to install.
     

Share This Page

Loading...