[Fixed]PC won't read SD card in HTC HeroSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi!

    My PC will only read the microSD card (2GB one supplied with the phone) installed in my HTC Hero if I remove the card from the phone and plug it directly into the computer.

    If I simply attach the USB cable, a 'D:' drive appears, but I get the error message "Please insert a disk into drive D".

    Any ideas?

    PS: I used the card as is, and did not 'format' it first; should I have done this?!?!?!

    Thanks! :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    Mine worked out of the box but an in-situ format is always a good idea ("Menu/Settings/SD Card/Unmount...." then "Format...."). Remember to copy the HTCSync files to your PC for safekeeping beforehand though, plus any data you may have added yourself.
     
  3. Wahwah

    Wahwah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    You need to mount the card.

    Drag the "shade" down from the top of the screen, press USB connection and choose mount and then your computer will be able to access the card.
     
  4. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Perfect! Thanks so much for sorting that out for me!!!! I should read the manual, but seeing as the one in the box from Pixmania is in French....................................................... :eek:
     
  5. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed the latest update of HTC sync for Hero but none of my PCs can see the phone or the card via USB, no matter if I use one running XP sp3 or Vista sp2.
    If I open the HTC sync app the "connect now" buttons are grayed out.
    And when I select connect or syncronize on the Hero, it gives the message that the phone can't find HTC sync on my PC even if it's open.

    I tried to swich the phone one and off while connected via USB, and to uninstall and reinstall the prog a couple of times but I got no joy anyway.

    Please, has anyone an idea on what can be tied or done?
    I'm so sad. (Sniff...)
     
  6. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    I had this problem when I first got the phone Friday! Now racking my brains to remember how I resolved it!!! Hold on.............:)
     
  7. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    I remember now!

    You need to "check" the "USB de-bugging" setting in the phone;

    HOME > MENU > Settings > Applications > Development needs to be selected for the phone to be able to synchronize with the PC using HTC Sync.

    HTC Hero - How do I synchronize my phone with my PC?

    Hope that does the trick! :)
     
  8. Wahwah

    Wahwah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cool, glad it helped. Just FYI, you should eject/stop the device on the computer THEN unmount it (same way you mounted it) before unplugging it.

    Just like you're supposed to with all USB drives, I don't bother most of the time but you might want to and at least you've got the info in English now!
     
  9. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0

    Dem, you be blessed my friend,
    It does'nt really work 100% , coz the buttons on the HTC sync programme are still grayed out and I can't syncronize the phone with a PC no matter what, BUT now (at least) I can see the Memcard (not the phone or its memory, mind you, just the card) listed in the "my PC" as an external drive and access the data therein.
    Not perfect (by a long shot) but definitely better than a kick in the balls.
    You will be remembered in my evening prayers and those of my children.

    Now, if you can also discover a way to sync the phone and fix that marvel of programming that is "HTC sync", you will not be forgotten in my testament either.
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    This is what works for me:

    Open HTCSync on PC
    Connect handset to USB cable
    When "HTCSync" notification appears in the top bar, pull it down and select it
    (DO NOT select "USB Connected" - this will mount your SD card on the PC)
    After a short time HTCSync and handset connect and sync options are available.

    HTH
     
  11. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ha Ha! My pleasure mate!

    I think the post by Slug could help. The point about 'pulling down' the menu at the top of the screen and either slecting it as 'USB' or 'Sync' should do it. It maybe that my phone defaulted to 'Sync' where yours doesn't? Anyway, give it a go and see if it helps! :D
     
  12. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much guys
    Now I managed to sync with Vista PCs, but this method does'nt work where it's most important because my trusty netbook ,which is what I always carry with me, runs XPsp3 and there 's no way to connect with XP.
    When I tap on the HTC sync button , I get the usual message that the phone is looking for HTC sync, and after a while the message change and says that the Hero is unable to find HTC sync on my pc even though it's open in front of me.

    The "debug USB" is checked, but does'nt help much.

    Would you also be so kind as suggest me a working method to use the Hero as a mobile modem with a netbook?
    I can't do that either.
    The world is really an unfair place.
    Thanx anyway. (sob)
     
  13. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    Using XP SP3 here without issues, so it's not something generic to the OS.

    I know you've done it before, but try uninstalling HTCSync, downloading the latest version (2.0.4 iirc) from HTC's web site and reinstalling that. Restart the PC, run HTCSync and then connect the handset; you may see several "found new hardware" pop-ups. There should be "HTC Sync" in the notification bar now, so pull it down and tap the entry. The Hero should now look for and find HTCSync.

    Note: when you connect the handset the Connection Wizard may run, in which case just follow it through. Also, when connected there will be an "Android USB Device" entry visible in Device Manager. If you see this at least you know that the handset is using the correct drivers. Oh, and try rebooting the handset if it won't 'see' HTCSync - this has worked for me.
     
  14. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm running XP3 on this laptop and OK for me. Sorry; but I'm out of ideas! :eek:
     
  15. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0

    If it works on your XP I'm gonna make it work on mine too, even if it should be the last thing I do in this unfair live.

    So, I'll go once gain through the well known routine: uninstall/ CCleaning / reinstall / propitiatory dances/ vodoo rituals, etc.

    Then I 'll let you know if your cures did the trick.
    One point in favor of the Hero seems to be that its users are such an helpful bunch.
    Thank you guys.
     
  16. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I discovered the culprit of my troubles: its not HTC sync, it's the other file, the nasty "HTC Driver".

    I tried to uninstall it but it behaves exactly like a piece of malware.
    It's Impossible to uninstall.

    The cryptic message I get every time I ry to uninstall it is this " UnInstall Drivers Failed, some file may lose, Please repair the application and try again!"

    Could it be that "lose" may mean "loose"? But even then , wtf does it mean? How can I repair this thing?
    Or even better: how can I get rid of it?

    Is HTC phone business just a cover to hide a malicious gang of malware spreading goons?
    It would'nt surprise me, I've never heard of a conspiracy theory that did'nt convince me.

    Do you ,Android sages have a suggestion for me?
    Please don't abandon me in this moment my friends, you know how much I rely on your wise words.
     
  17. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mmmmmmmm......... how are you trying to uninstall it? I assume through "system" / "drivers" on your PC. What about just trying to re-install it over the top?!?! :confused::)
     
  18. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0

    Nope, I try to uninstall it through control panel/ remove program and also with the uninstall program option in CCleaner.
    I just tried to install it in top but during the installation process another one of these meaningless messages in some unknown language possibly related o english comes up.
    This message though is long enough to fill the 10,1" of my netbok so I hope it is't necessary for me to copy all of it.

    What do you think ?
    Is there hope?
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    There's always hope - stay strong! :)

    Are you trying to reinstall the current v2.0.4 of HTCSync? The driver(s) in that may be newer than the v2.0.2 (?) shipped with the handset.

    Now.... with the Hero connected via USB is an "Android USB Device" still displayed in Device Manager? If so expand that to show the actual device itself, right-click and choose "uninstall". If not move on to the next step.

    Disconnect the Hero, reboot, and if you haven't already done so uninstall HTCSync from Add/Remove Programs. Reboot again, and check that there's no /Program Files/HTC folder remaining. If you find one, delete with extreme predjudice! Be warned, if like me you habitually install programs to other than the default system (C: ) drive, there will still be a /Program Files/HTC tree there anyway. Wtf HTC???? Anyway..... now look in /windows/temp (or wherever you've set the TMP/TEMP variables) and delete (a) any _HTC*.* files, and (b) any folder containing HTC*.msi. I'd also suggest sorting by date modified, select all files modified more than 48hrs ago and deleting them too. Then examine what's left and delete anything that you can. Windows is notoriously bad at tidying up after itself and often leaves remnants of old installations lying around. If the OS is using a file it won't let you delete it, but anything else is, in my experience, fair game for the shredder. Finally, have a look in /windows/system32/ for WdfCoInstaller01007.dll and in /windows/system32/drivers/ for ANDROIDUSB.sys. If you find either delete them 'cos the driver uninstall should have nuked them anyway.

    Still sane? Then reboot for a final time, remember to temporarily disable antivirus software, and try installing the latest HTCSync once more. Hopefully you'll have eliminated all traces of the old driver and the new one will go in smoothly. Cross your fingers, connect the Hero and it should sync when asked.

    p.s. Double-check "USB Debugging" - mine mysteriously turned itself off sometime today and nerfed the sync!

    p.p.s. Somebody proof-read this and make sure I haven't missed anything. It's late and I can't drink any more espresso if I want to sleep some time this week! :)

    HTH
     
  20. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    How exciting! I connect the phone today and the litle USB symbol appears in the Notification bar at the top of the phone screen, but not the "Sync" icon. Oooooooooooooooooooooh I love this phone / Android!!! :D

    What a crock! :mad:
     
  21. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Fixed it! By............................ pulling the battery out the back of the phone, putting it back and switching on again!

    Christ.............. :rolleyes:
     
    disney1313 and Longman240 like this.
  22. Plexus

    Plexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wait, so you managed to find a solution?
    Gotta try your medicine right away. B.b.S.
     
  23. Dem

    Dem Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yep! My next option was a hammer............ :D
     
  24. fatelvis

    fatelvis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    No hammer needed - the "remove-and-replace-the-battery"-stunt WORKED!

    I had the same problem, tried everything... nothing helped. But - remove and replace battery = success!

    Thanks!
     
  25. Millstone-House

    Millstone-House Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just in passing....

    Advice from a 'Haynes' manual...

    "If you can't fix it with a hammer, then you have an electrical fault " .....!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...