[Fixed]Unlocked Hero orange update


Last Updated:

  1. nickhirst

    nickhirst Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,
    Maybe someone can give me some advice.
    Im the proud owner of an unlocked orange uk hero running on t mobile austria network.
    I have heard that the newer heros cant be unlocked because orange have made a deal with htc and changed the codes. I must have been lucky because mine unlocked no problem with the code recieved from the imei number.
    My question is if i update the rom with the orange rom version on the htc homepage will my phone become simlocked again, and more worrying will i not be able to unlock it again when it has the new rom on it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Nope. Once unlocked, always unlocked. ROM updates have no bearing.
     
  3. nickhirst

    nickhirst Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks
     
  4. moetazthabet

    moetazthabet New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi .. can you confirm that this worked. i have a and htc hero that is branded orange but is working on all sim cards - i am not sure of the method by wich it was unlocked. can i update the rom from the htc site and it will remain unlocked ?
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,378
    Likes Received:
    16,472
    Not first-hand but I know it's worked this way for many others. The unlock is definitely not affected by ROM updates.
     
  6. moetazthabet

    moetazthabet New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Slug ... Did it an worked fine ... you have been a great help !
     

Share This Page

Loading...