Flash 10.1 not coming to hero


Last Updated:

  1. lldsandsll

    lldsandsll Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1

    Advertisement
  2. lldsandsll

    lldsandsll Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    just saw this elsewhere doing a search. feel free to delete this thread admins. sorry.
     
  3. thefley

    thefley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    26
    this really sucks!, guess it is time to root. anyone know if flash works on rooted phones?
     
  4. Visionikz03

    Visionikz03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    speaking on behalf of fresh users it works the same as it would on stock rom. There is a patch that must be installed with fresh rom to fix the issue of flash not working in the native browser at first. Rooting ur phone wont necessarily give u the ability to install flash 10.1 on ur hero. It has to be ported from another device that will run 10.1 first which means the code from that device has to be modified and rewritten to run on ur device.
     
  5. TreyBano

    TreyBano Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The hero already has flash on it, i don't get why they say it can't support it. Wouldn't it just be a simple upgrade? I see the droid is already running but the hero's not? The droid's Processor is just a bit bigger?
     
  6. Visionikz03

    Visionikz03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    true but the flash that is preinstalled on hero is like a compact version of the desktop version of flash that will do the basics so it wont have every feature that desktop flash has mostly due to memory and processor restrictions hergo the droid has it because it's processor can handle all of that fancy animation in flash.
     
  7. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can you tell me where to find that patch?
     
  8. neversatisfied

    neversatisfied Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    10
    This bites!!! We dish out $479 for our Sprint Hero's, then they can't even do what the other phones can do later on, and not only that, but then they bring out a new one a few months later that CAN do the stuff and expect us to wait 2 years for our upgrade, or dish out ANOTHER $450+ on a phone that can do what out phones can but 1 extra feature...

    I think if we had our phones for at least 6 months, and a newer version comes out we should get a FREE UPGRADE... I know we all had this happen to us before. and it seems like it happens all the time now a days. Seriously, I bought a Samsung instinct s30 back when that was $450+ and then a better phone came out like a month later that was around the same price and was completely better than this phone and i couldnt get it... I had to wait and deal with that piece of shit for a year waiting to get something new. And now i got my Hero, and now im hearing that HTC might bring out a NEW SenseUI phone in a few months to Sprint... WTF!!!!!

    Cell companies are seriously annoying these days...
     
  9. romeosidvicious

    romeosidvicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    58
    When the Hero was released full Flash support wasn't even on the radar. Sprint isn't holding anything back on this and neither is HTC. This one is all on Adobe. Adobe has decided what devices they will support. And of course new phones are coming out, of course they are coming to Sprint. If you look phones come out every few months all year long. We, Hero owners, and as such most of us will shell out for a new phone when the next shiny toy is available. And most of us, myself included, will whine a little bit about it. But the truth is most users won't shell out until they are upgrade eligible and won't really even notice. Sprint hasn't done anything to us. When the Hero dropped they didn't even know what the next Android from HTC they were going to offer. They offered the first one they thought would be right. Now there are more coming. And you know what? There will be more after that, probably about six months later, and we can all play the whining game again.
     
  10. chfields

    chfields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    5
    That is the nature of technology. As soon as you buy it, it is obsolete and something better and faster comes out. If you buy when it first comes out, you will always get burned by price IE: I bought 2 Hero's for 99$ 3 weeks ago at Best Buy. There is always something better and faster coming out, you can never stay ahead, unless your very rich.................
     
  11. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    this sucks, however, Skyfire has confirmed that they will be making an application that will be supported on android devices, so, I'm excited for that!!!
     
  12. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Hero can't support Flash 10.1 b/c of hardware incompatibility issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...