Flash Blockers!Support


Last Updated:

  1. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    People who have 2.2 are trying to block flash! Well am I ever glad I have no flash capabilities on my Milestone! :D too funny!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. LifeInAnalog

    LifeInAnalog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    ...whoa, what are you talking about?! Sorry, I was late to the party (SOMEBODY forgot to tell me)
     
  3. TwinDragons

    TwinDragons Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    21
    That's weird, there is an option to disable it...and an option to run it on demand. And even then you don't have to install it or you can uninstall it.
     
  4. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    I was googling flash block for my firefox (great tool) and I noticed forums come up for people with Android Froyo 2.2 looking for flash blocking software for their phones to stop flash from automatically loading.


    Well not everyone is tech astute... I'm sure you know this if you have been on forums before ;)
     
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    No, there is no 2.2 for the Milestone yet.
     
  6. LifeInAnalog

    LifeInAnalog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    ...oh, ok. Wake me when there is;)

    ...amazing TelusMilestone. People are having hissy fits to get flash on their phones, now they're trying their darndest to figure out how to block it.

    "Careful what you ask for?":)
     
  7. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Haha, I will always remember the short thingy I learned when I was studying linguistics from Fromking and Rodman:

    As a rule man is a fool,
    When it's hot he wants it cool,
    When it's cool he wants it how,
    Always wanting what is not ;)
     
    TelusMilestone and LifeInAnalog like this.
  8. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    442
    Not the same people. The last thing I want on my phone is Flash; I haven't asked for it and if it gets forced on me I'll be looking for a blocker as well.
     
  9. LifeInAnalog

    LifeInAnalog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    ...+1!

    Like TelusMilestone said, doing awfully good without it.
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    No need for Flash here either.
     
  11. ashketchum

    ashketchum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    35
    How do I order pizza online without Flash? Dominos India : Online Ordering Application

    Unfortunately there are many websites using Flash and so its not going anywhere anytime soon. I have seen many sites using Flash for something that could have been done using HTML and Javascript. Like that pizza ordering system above. It was created with Adobe Flex I believe, most likely cause the developers found it to be "easy".

    Anyway, like TwinDragons said, Flash on Android can easily be disabled or can be run in on demand mode.

    @TelusMilestone

    Why didn't you go to https://addons.mozilla.org directly and search for it there?
     
  12. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yes indeed I agree!

    I'm not sexist but that's usually how women are haha :p

    /me waits for a wave of backlash from the other sex :eek:

    In all fairness guys have their stupid traits too ;)

    Yes no need at all for it!

    You order a pizza by calling them on the phone? Although I do like ordering Swiss Chalet online and they do have flash. I have a PC and a laptop which both can use flash lol :p

    I sure hope you can disable it in settings!

    I didn't go directly to the site because I'm a Googler. I must google everything before I make myself look dumb asking a stupid question on a forum some where about something that has already been answered easily by searching in Google which usually is the first two or three answers at the top of the list and this is a run on sentence! :p
     
  13. ashketchum

    ashketchum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ah, but you can't pay with card if you call them on the phone.

    Can you take your laptop with you everywhere you go? :p

    Like the Droid, it wont be pre installed in the Milestone 2.2 update. So you wont have to disable anything. :p
     
  14. GlitchZero

    GlitchZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just installed it with CM 6.1...

    The ads are annoying, but the pros outweigh the cons. I can watch football and moves and stuff now.

    And order pizza while I'm doing it. ;)
     
  15. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    16
    CM6 mod has to be 10 x better then motofrenzy. So much customization features but right now i have hit a brick wall. ADW is super fast and ugly but launcher pro is super pretty and pretty fast but lots of reloads. Also one thing i have noticed why cyanogen mid is that alot more ram is always open. There aren't as many apps that stay open :D so the phone is always at its fastest.

    Flash = great. Pr0n ftw and i can finally watch JTV on my phone because there is no dedicated app :mad:
     
  16. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    LOL wow your take out joint must be behind the times... They now bring a satellite debit/CC machine to the door! :D

    I sure can, its not like I'm dragging my PC around... laptops are portable?!?
    [​IMG]

    Good because I'm lazy and don't like to screw with things... Toasty!!!!
     
  17. GlitchZero

    GlitchZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    12
    Lol word. I actually took TelusStone and replaced LP with ADW because of all the damn reloads / lag time.

    If you REALLY want LP, you can download it, then use Root Explorer to move it from /data/app to /system/app and just rename it Launcher.apk. That's what I did with ADW in TelusStone 4.1. :)
     
  18. LifeInAnalog

    LifeInAnalog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    8
    ...finally, an entertaining thread! These forums don't have to be all tech talk and serious-like.
    Thanks guys...don't miss the Canadian Xbox forums quite so much now.
     
  19. ashketchum

    ashketchum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    35
    Aren't laptops bigger than ipads?
     
  20. TelusMilestone

    TelusMilestone Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    35
    Not some but I forgot to mention mine is a netbook :p Running Linux so it's really fast :D

    BTW=MAC=Garbage... actually NVM garbage gets picked up from the curb I wouldn't even do that.. I would abandon it fully!!!!
     
  21. GlitchZero

    GlitchZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    12
    Well, that's debatable. More like Linux > OS X > Windows. Easily.
     
  22. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    So, about that "ondemand" option...

    What does OS X do better than Windows from an end-user perspective? No really, tell me. And if you say "well it doesn't get viruses/it doesn't crash/it just works" I'll simply dismiss you as a tech-illiterate buffoon.
     
  23. GlitchZero

    GlitchZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    12
    The best thing I've found with OS X over Windows is it openly lets you use a different OS on it, and actually has a tool built into the OS to let you install whatever the hell you want on it.

    Similar option in Windows? Not so much.

    For graphic or audio editing, OS X has far, far better software available than Windows ever has, or ever will have, and I have a fair chunk of the entertainment industry on my side for that.

    Oh, also, the hardware is well integrated. I've never had to download or install drivers in the entire 20 years I've used Mac OS, I've never had to use a command window to change permissions, or safe boot in an Administrator account just to modify applications. I know this is along the lines of 'it just works' but sue me. I've never had any problems hooking anything up or running iSight or anything like that.

    Also, I really couldn't care less if you dismiss me as anything. Who are you again? ;)
     
  24. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    442
    Windows has never prevented you from installing other operating systems and has always had multi-boot capability built in, although most users will prefer to use a different bootloader.
     
  25. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    16
    You may have never had to install drivers but have you tried playing a game? windows has roughly 30% better performance on the same hardware as Os x. Apple has there system to locked down. Im sure Nvidia would be happy to right drivers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...