flash causing restart after froyoSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Route66

    Route66 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    stock browser
    plug ins set to on demand
    anytime I click on a flash link my phone reboots...any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jdjmad

    jdjmad Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you installed flash 10.1 yet? I had a similar issue and installing flash after the update fixed my problems.
     
  3. Bikegeek

    Bikegeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
    Which Flash to install? I get the green arrow, click it and the browser, stock and Dolphin, closes.
     
    Connectz likes this.
  4. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes having the same problem as bikegeek, any solution to this or just wait for fix?
     
  5. Bikegeek

    Bikegeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    14
  6. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    download it,but i get this when i try to open it "no application can be found to open file"
     
  7. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    this is frustrating, any program to open .bin files?
     
  8. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    well after more testing...... it was discovered that this was just a temp fix, as i used this to fix my "unoffcial" 2.2 update, it seems that turning off the phone and turning it back on causes the problem to return

    idk if this is for everyone but it happened to me and i couldn't get it to stick no matter what i did...... the OTA might be diffrent and you might not have reacurring issues.... as i have the pre OTA 2.2 i can not test that factor

    the 2nd option if this will not work to fix the problem is to do a full factory reset.... and it should fix the problem for good...(so far anyways)
    3 hours lastnight trying to test diffrent things and then resetting my phone and re-doing everything again..... yeah i was not too happy
     
  9. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Question... did any of you have 10.1 installed prior to updating to 2.2? I have read that that has caused huge issues. Also are y'all on the manual Update or the OTA?
     
  10. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    Flash for 2.1 yes
    manual yes
     
  11. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1

    i see, so theres pretty much no real solution to this problem, should i just go ahead and do the factory reset, because that link up top, i downloaded it and i couldnt open it, i guess cause it was a .bin file?, have nothing to open it with, thats the error i keep getting.
     
  12. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    i did the OTA update today
     
  13. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    idk about a.bin file.... it should be a .apk
    i DLed it to my PC and moved it over that way and it worked fine
     
  14. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmm didnt do it that way, but ill try it right now, thanks
     
  15. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    There are your problems right there... the update installs Flash 10.1 and it does not like the earlier version at all. Do a Search through the forums... EarlyMon posted about this.
     
  16. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    shit, i did the flash 10.1 on 2.1 and now i can't uninstall it :(
     
  17. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28
    but yeah i can not find anyother way to fix this
    i've done the flash .apk, i did a full memory wipe of my browser
    tried to install the flash .apk a few times after soft restarts to get it to stick
    did like 2 hours of internet serches looking for more solutions

    i know the file fixes the problem, but for some people its only a temp fix i haven't heard too much more from people that have tired it

    factory resets are always a last resort for me and i really don't like telling people to do it unless there is no other way

    but if the file won't fix the issue permently then it seems its the only option to do right now...... or try to get an HTC tech rep to see what they say?
     
  18. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    i did a post on this...... i even did a warning thread
    i know about the problem
    i've been trying to help people fix it along with find ways to fix it

    it is no longer a problem for me as i finally gave in and did a factory reset lastnight
     
  19. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    iv searched everywhere also this morning like u did, and it seems like this is a real problem that has to be solved by an htc tech rep
     
  20. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    you won't be able to...... you had to unistall it before the 2.2 update
    as flash is now a perment thing with 2.2
     
  21. shandroid

    shandroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    So what I have to hard-reset now? Will soft work?
     
  22. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    yeah i hate to say it, but unless the the new 2.2 flash .apk fixed it for you then you have to hard reset
     
  23. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965

    Ahh gotcha... I thought you were having the problem. My Bad.
     
  24. deenice666

    deenice666 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    well i did it, fixed the problem like u said shogun, but i shutdown the phone, then turned it back on and its like it was never installed, got the crash browser thing again,lol, like u said, guess its only a temp solution
     
  25. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28


    well option 1: is to put the file on your SD card, install it again after every soft reset.... (annoying) till a possible better fix is found
    option 2: set the flash to ondemand in your browser settings... this will keep flash from loading unless you want it to.... once again till a better fix is found

    or 3..... full factory reset
     

Share This Page

Loading...