flashed a rom, is this a problem


Last Updated:

  1. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    so i just flashed my phone to 2.1 and it rebooted and all. its been on the HTC quietly brilliant screen for about 10 minutes now. is this normal ? every now and then the screen goes black and goes back to the sprint logo intro then back to the HTC logo.
     

    Advertisement
  2. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Umm, which 2.1 ROM did you flash? Normally, it does take longer on the first boot up when you flash new ROMs/MODS so just be a little patient.
     
  3. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
  4. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    I'm willing to bet 99% that you did not read everything in that ROM. Did you wipe both data and dalvik as is says? I'm guessing not. Try to wipe data/dalvik then try again. If you don't know how to wipe, please read the guide as it tells you :)
     
  5. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    I think you missed the extra .9% so that you could be as accurate as an EPT :)
     
  6. riggsAndroid

    riggsAndroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Warrior

    Stay on one thread. You've started 3 different threads all about the same person rooting and them putting a custom ROM on the phone.

    Stick to one thread. It will be easier to get help.
     
  7. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    Lol. True, it is helpful to continue posting in the same thread.

    But, on the other hand, this is why I have 147 thread subscriptions currently, after deleting a TON of them the other day :).
     
  8. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    i gotta reset my hero back to factory then load the rom ?
     
  9. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Nope, boot into recovery mode and wipe data and dalvik cache then reboot after both tasks have completed.
     
  10. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    please read the guide...this question is answered in there..

    to wipe your phone. reboot in recovery (hold home while powering on) in recovery, choose wipe. wipe data/factory reset

    THEN flash the ROM you want to use (CDMA only please) which in your case I believe you said you were trying to use Damage Control 2.0.7.. then reboot. it will take a few minutes 5-10 for first boot.
     
  11. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278

    Seriously, please read the tutorial/faq/guide All the way through. Your question is answered right in there:


     
  12. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok i wiped both things out and flashed the rom.....currently on the HTC quilty brilliant logo. hopefully it doesnt get stuck or loops.
     
  13. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    RTFM please :p

    Seriously though, you are doing something that could potentially brick your phone so it's of utmost importance to read and make sure you fully understand the risks and process involved.
     
  14. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    It normally takes 5-10 minutes for first boot.
     
  15. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    it worked and im now running 2.1. OMFG what a difference. sooo fast. <333333333
     
  16. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    I assume your "Not" running 2.1 is a typo? Gratz on getting it working. Be sure to use the "Thanks" button for all those that helped you out :)
     
  17. stevedave

    stevedave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    8
    Glad to see you got it working.
     
  18. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    i meant to say "now" haha. but yeah thanks everyone for all the help !!! i couldnt wait much longer for the offical update of 2.1 this is amazing my phone is my life now. =)
     
  19. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,537
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    I don't think he knows how that button works, lol. We should just take pride in the fact that we were able to steer this one in the right direction.
     
  20. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Lol. No worries. I'm just glad he got it working. I hate hearing that people result to running RUU because they can't get it working and don't take the time and patience to ask for help and research ;).
     
  21. stevedave

    stevedave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    8
    Agreed
     

Share This Page

Loading...