Flashing a phone from Verizon to Cricket?


Last Updated:

  1. budmonster

    budmonster Guest This Topic's Starter

    How does this work. I have a Droid X, not saying I'm going to switch. Would I still get Google updates, would I be using Cricket data network for my internet and so on? I'm assuming Cricket internet is not 3G or anywhere near as fast a VZW? I'm just to curious on how this all works out...VZW phones to Cricket?

    Thanks guys..
     

    Advertisement
  2. kcs7272

    kcs7272 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    536
    Cricket is 3g, You need someone who knows what they are doing to do a FULL flash for you. Also if you live in a Cricket tri band area your phone will only work on roaming. As far as updates since the X has a skin over Android you will probably not get 2.3 or above over the air because updates for skinned phones usually come from carriers not Google.

    That being said there are ways to get them. Also be aware that Cricket has a 1gig cap on data for Android phones (unlimited my ass) read the fine print. After that they throttle your internet. If you have any more questions hit me up.

    (Ex Cricket Employee/ Store Owner & Cell Phone Junkie!)
     
    gdillon1940 likes this.
  3. NunyaBidnez

    NunyaBidnez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    26
    What exactly is involved in making a Verizon Android phone work on the Cricket network? After the phone is flashed to work on Cricket, can the phone be further modified with a custom ROM such as Cyanogenmod and continue to work on Cricket?
     
  4. flash35

    flash35 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm a Cricket Franchise owner that full flashes Sprint and Verizon phones to Cricket. Cricket is 3G and is from what I've heard going to be 4G later this year in selected areas and in all Cricket Coverage areas in 2012. Cricket is unlimited talk,text and Internet, but when any provider tells you unlimited data it only means they will not shut down your internet or charge you extra if you go over whatever cap they have set place for internet usage. They will just throttle your internet.
     
    la sal and KOLIO like this.
  5. tmmcneil

    tmmcneil New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do you mean throttle?
     
  6. Can0dope

    Can0dope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    112
    Basically, make it ridonculously slow.
     
  7. Scur

    Scur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    481
    What phones can be flashed to use Cricket? Any phone, or ones from just Sprint or Verizon?
     
  8. Gmash

    Gmash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Likes Received:
    3,083
    Basically Sprint or Verizon, because they are CDMA like Cricket. T-Mo and ATT phones won't work because they are GSM and require sim cards.
     
    Scur likes this.
  9. Scur

    Scur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    481
    Ok, I did it. I got my Verizon Motorola Droid X2 saturday. Over the weekend I figured out how to throw the NV items on the phone, put in the proper PRL, changed the phone number in the phone, rooted the stock Froyo, and deleted the bloatware. Today I got Cricket to switch the ESN on my account from my old Ascend to the X2, and everything is working perfectly. If you're handy with flashing, and can follow directions, it's not hard.
     
  10. b-cpeace

    b-cpeace New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can I get instructions to self flash incredible to crickett??
     
  11. Scur

    Scur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    481
  12. Appliancemedic

    Appliancemedic Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok here my question does the phone once it is flashed does it pickup the signal as well as a cricket phone does . The reason I ask this is on my phone now I can have no bars but still work just fine. And will it roam ?
     
  13. Scur

    Scur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    481

    It will roam, but Cricket has roaming charges. Go to the Cricket site and look at the coverage map.
     
  14. Scur

    Scur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    481
    Another thing you have to consider is that that flashing a dual band phone to work in a triband area won't work right.
     
  15. Appliancemedic

    Appliancemedic Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the information what would be the best phone to flash ?
     
  16. Scur

    Scur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    481
    That, I don't know. Since messing around with this phone, I've found out this: It's barely worth it. Using a dual band phone in a tri-band area is a bit of a pain, and there's no guarantee that the Cricket guys won't eventually see you using the carrier partner's data connection and cancel you're account. It's taken many hours and research and trial and error to get this to work, and it still has it's issues. I've got a Droid X2, and I'm going to go to Verizon sometime soon and just put it on their monthly plan. It's a few bucks more, but there's still no contract, and I won't have to worry about maintenance on my end.

    Now if you can find a good tri-band phone, you might have better luck than I've been having, and there shouldn't be any TOS issues.
     
  17. fynegirl72

    fynegirl72 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a question or two...what is a skinned phone--how do I know if I have one? & how do I know if I am in a tri-band Cricket area?
    I am looking at the possibility of flashing my Lg Optimus S 2.3 OS from Sprint to Cricket. Cricket store guy says that flashed androids often have issues such as not receiving text messages & that there isn't anything they can do for these issues as the phone isn't a Cricket phone. Has anyone else had any problems after they flashed a phone? I am open to all advice on this. Thanks
     
  18. reaped soul

    reaped soul New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    how would i get the fascinate flashed
     
  19. jrolling69

    jrolling69 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have to ask can you help me flash my verizion to cricket i really need help iphones and stuff are easy but i have a motorola A855 droid i need it rooted and flashed
     
  20. Sanzenbacher

    Sanzenbacher Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry for the bump. Huawei Ascend II with US Cellular would be able to flash, right?
     
  21. Gmash

    Gmash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6,831
    Likes Received:
    3,083
    I'm no expert, but I don't see why not. Especially since Cricket has the same phone. But since it usually costs $60 to fully flash an Android, you might consider just selling yours and buying a Cricket one and make things easier on yourself.
     
  22. Ghost4610

    Ghost4610 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a ten gig cap with 4g speeds
     

Share This Page

Loading...