• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Flashing Radio CDMA Desire

Ogbassist182

Nov 17, 2010
Hi guys,

I am fairly new to rooting; however, I successfully rooted my CDMA HTC Desire last night using the unrevoked method. I then flashed CyanogenModv6.1 to my Desire. On my pc, the program said "this was a triump" but on my phone, after it completed it said E:unsupported radio type. My question..... well I am interested in flashing a new radio on my phone because @ work and sometimes home it toggles between 3g/1x (not sure what 1x means). My device did do this from time to time before I even rooted my phone but it seems it's doing it more now that I flashed CyanogenMod. [RADIO] HTC Desire Stock Radios [LATEST 32.49.00.32U_5.11.05.27] [03/10/10] - xda-developers is a site with HTC Desire radios. My question(finally lol) is are these radios for CDMA or GSM? How do I tell which radio is for which device for future use so I can tell myself, AND if they are GSM, where can I find a radio that I can flash and test that is for a CDMA Desire?

Thanks for the help!

The only thought I have: what you describe sounds like switching between 3g and lower-capacity networks due to imperfect coverage, which is actually normal. Are you sure that it's really worse since rooting and flashing? After making changes like that you might be watching the phone more carefully (to see what has changed), and hence may just be more aware of this happening. I'm not saying that is the case, just raising the possibility. Although I've always found reception differences between (GSM) radios to be small, many people do claim that some radios work better with some ROMs. But it isn't clear from your original post that it's a big effect.