Fluctuating signal?General


Last Updated:

  1. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    Anyone else have this problem? My phone can be sitting on a table and the signal just moves around...
    But my biggest complaint is that lately it completely cuts off my Mobile Network when someone calls me...making it harder for them to hear me..unless I'm screaming into the phone.
    Then after the call, it gives me my Network back.
    Like, when they call, the 3G icon on top will disappear, and when I hang up it comes back.. wtf?


    And does anyone else notice their 3G dropping back to 1X after they send an SMS?
     

    Advertisement
  2. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I could be wrong here, but I think the 3G network is strickly for data ... your not using the 3G when your on a phone call, its the same voice network as all other Verizon phones. Since Verizon doesnt allow you to be on a call and the internet at the same time, perhaps you lose 3G when your on a call because your not using it. I could be way off, but that would make since to me.
     
  3. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well it doesn't make sense to me, since it just started doing that.. when I first got the phone it never cut off my network in a call, now it does it all the time. :confused:
     
  4. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I dont know why your network cuts out, I just dont think the 3G has anything to do with phone calls. But again, I am guessing.
     
  5. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah I don't really mean the 3G though, it cuts off my Mobile Network COMPLETELY, meaning I don't get a 3G symbol or even 1X. I get a row of grey bars.. that's it.. then when the call is over, it cuts my Mobile Network back on.
     
  6. huntsvegas

    huntsvegas Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem...Apparently it's more then trivial, as it has been flagged by VZW...I understand, from speaking with VZW tech support, that they suspect it's a software issue and that it will be resolved when the next "patch" and/or OS upgrade goes out (next month). I typically hear a click (as if the phone's muting), which momentarily cuts out my voice to people on the other end. VERY annoying... If they don't fix it with the next release, the phone is going back.
     
  7. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    My phone will go back also, as many times as needed. I won't have this kind of crap.
     
  8. Chuntsman949

    Chuntsman949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes I am curious about this as well....All day yesterday I had a 3g Icon, today it is 1x with a D underneath.....
     
  9. dequardo

    dequardo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    41
    It's a known issue and will be fixed with the first OTA update on/about 12/11.
     
  10. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Phone / network cannot call / network at the same time.

    The fluctuating "signal" issue is just the display. Known bug, being fixed with the next software update.
     
  11. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132
    This was what happened to me when I had the Motorola Droid. 3G is for data purposes. The signal bars is what we need to look at for Voice. No bars showing when I made a call and soon as I hung up the bars would go back up to full? Anyways waiting for my Eris to come back to me on Monday.
     
  12. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    That's what I mean, my bars disappear completely and my mobile network gets cut off..when I'm in a phone call and I check it, it tells me it's disconnected. But when I hang up and watch it, it comes right back on.
     
  13. joeyray15

    joeyray15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help? my signal fluctuates from 3 bars to no bars when just sitting on my desk (not on a phone call) and when i go into settings i can watch the signal in dbm jump around also which means it is not just a display issue, it means i am not receiving signal. I have updated my roaming 3 different times and rebooted a few times also, nothing works.
     
  14. dequardo

    dequardo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    41
    Well i'm told it's ALL a UI issue and not reflective of actual signal. Not sure I trust that opinion. I frequently see mine at 0 dBm
     
  15. joeyray15

    joeyray15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think it is sofware either, i believe the issue where you cant view any bars while making a call may be software but when i go into settings and see my signal strength at -97dbm and 0dbms and watch it fluctuate i think that is hardware. Is there anyone who knows for sure?
     
  16. dequardo

    dequardo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    41
    The theory is the two indicators are directly related. I guess the proof is if you can make/receive calls when it shows zero.
     
  17. joeyray15

    joeyray15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand the concept behind it i guess what i am trying to find out is if anyone knows wether or not this will definitely be fixed with the update. I will be able to make a call cause it fluxtuates so frequently that i will catch it with one bar but my last phone didnt have that problem at all.
     
  18. dequardo

    dequardo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    41
    The educated opinion is that, yes, it will be fixed on 12/11.
     
  19. cutter311

    cutter311 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure this is accurate...I have 2 spots where I USED to get fine signal w/ my BB's that now fluctuate between 2 & ZERO bars...I've had a few txt's that have died...I get 4 grey bars w/ an 'x' over them...

    Based upon the fact I work in a blgd that houses the VZW sales force, I'm pretty sure there is decent signal here. I believe I will ask for a new Eris (cuz the phone itself is bad arse...I am however HOPING the 12/11 update fixes some THINGS)
     

Share This Page

Loading...