FM Radio?


Last Updated:

  1. x2x3lit3x2x

    x2x3lit3x2x New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    OKay so ive been looking around everywhere trying to figure this out. The Samsung Cap has a radio built in it, but ATT disabled it correct? Tell me if im wrong. If it is disabled, how do i enable it? and i just got the phone yesterday and honestly its a great phone but i thought the fm radio would be included. Please respond, thanks :] What do u guys recommended putting or installing on the phone anyway? I dont use data, i put data block on my phone, i knw theyll put data on eventually but i can call and tell them to take it off cuz ive been doing that for the iphone. But yeh respond bak :]
     

    Advertisement
  2. viny2cool

    viny2cool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    23
    I am big fan of FM radio as well. But I dont think you can use it on Captivate without using data. I use TuneIn Radio app for listening to radio. Its a great app, and surprisingly covers all the popular radio in the world.

    It will be interesting to know that we can enable radio....look forward to others reply..
     
  3. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    69
    It would be nice to have a FM built in, in order to pick up the audio on the tv's in the gym
     
  4. Segfault

    Segfault Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    26
    I don't know if it has been determined one way or another if the Captivate has the radio and its not supported if its actually not there.
     
  5. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    69
    I doubt it's there
     
  6. speedfreak32

    speedfreak32 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    23
    Great app, missing one station that I regularly listen to.
     
  7. Andrewdroid

    Andrewdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Does the International Galaxy S maybe have an FM radio? I have an International Samsung Dumbphone I bought in the UK that had an FM radio. For some reason phones with FM radios are more popular internationally than in the US, I'm not sure why that is. I use Tune-In radio as well, but it would be nice to have a true FM radio that isn't using up my data plan.

    Tune-In radio is a cool app though cuz you can listen to other country's stations and it finds your local stations based on your location.
     
  8. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    I doubt it has the FM receiver too. Samsung custom built the Captivate for AT&T, why would they have an FM receiver installed if they weren't planning on using it? That would be like them telling Samsung to put a flash for the camera then not enabling it.
     
  9. Reggie3

    Reggie3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    15
  10. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Streaming internet radio and an FM receiver are two different things. The poster is asking about the latter.

    Considering that unlimited data is a thing of the past, an actual FM receiver has a huge necessary niche.
     
  11. fldude99

    fldude99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    69
    EXACTLY! What I would like it for is to listen to the TV's in the gym that transmit audio on a FM channel
     

Share This Page

Loading...