Fool proof ......:D well easy way to get msl from Optimus v


Last Updated:

  1. asadullah

    asadullah Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    253
    Check out the open source way to get the Msl from the optimus V

    Watch here

    Then punch ubuntu 12.04 in the face
     

    Advertisement
  2. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    Watched your video last week and got my MSL when trying to unbrick. Worked flawlessly.
    Corrected my PRL with it as well, just downloaded a PRL from XDA clicked on the "send PRL from file" bar and it changed my PRL, just that easy.
     
  3. tli

    tli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    93
    I watched the video, and it's so very simple and straightforward. The video specifically stated that this method only works with the stock ROM. Andy, just curious as to how you were able to unbrick--did you have to flash back to stock for this to work? Just curious for future reference.
     
  4. Phatninja55

    Phatninja55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    219
    You could use Quattrimus, it has the port open already, and any froyo rom because you can do ##port#. You can also do it in recovery, or at the stock charging screen before you hit the power button.
     
    tli likes this.
  5. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus Contributor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,625
    Likes Received:
    1,532
    My V was so bricked my computer didn't even recognize it in emergency mode.
    Tried all the unbrick guides here, but they all error'd out at some point or another.
    Ended up going here: Unbricking Your Optimus V - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com
    It did zero out my MEID, MSL, ESN, and AAA code. Got everything back with the help of this video and a few other guides mentioned in the thread. All that is except the AAA code=(no data).
    It was a stone cold brick and now it's at the very least everything but 3G. Would I still have used this guide now, knowing what I know: Absolutly.

    This ^ is only to be used if nothing else works, as you will loose data.
    When I was done it left me on the Stock ROM with ZV9 update.
    Rooted with EManUL3XXX's root guide, then installed the same recovery I had on the other 2 V's. Then I restored a ZV4 backup I had made with one of the other 2 V's. So now I'm rooted and have the ZV9 SW version, but, I'm on a ZV4 stock ROM.
    Then I went about fixing my PRL and MEID, ESN, etc.
     
    tli likes this.
  6. asadullah

    asadullah Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    253
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,345
    Likes Received:
    21,327
    @asadullah and @Andy, I've stickied this thread as requested...let me know if we get too many stickies in here (we can then prominently update the ATR Guide to include these links with the appropriate emphasis (which you'll have to let me know about, LOL, since I've got no idea what you guys are talking about here :p ;) :))).

    Great stuff here guys and thanks for keeping a watchful eye out for all the root Optimus V folks around here.

    Cheers!
     
    sammyz, asadullah and AndyOpie150 like this.
  8. unknownsoldi

    unknownsoldi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think there needs to be more descriptions about this stuff. This is stickied, so it seems it's important, yet there is no detail regarding what this MSL is. Or what the AAA number is. Are they different things? Should they both be saved?
     
  9. asadullah

    asadullah Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    253
    They are needed to flash your phone to a different carrier. Msl is like the unlock code for a device. The aaa is the 3g password if it's wrong you won't get 3g
     
  10. TheRealKTFO

    TheRealKTFO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    11
    Is there anyway to get the MSL without having a stock Rom installed?

    sorry if I missed something.
     
  11. Phatninja55

    Phatninja55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    219
    Try in recovery, or if the rom has it offline mode.
     

Share This Page

Loading...