for everyone that updated to 2.2 take a look at this...it should help


Last Updated:

  1. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    60
    so i just read this on android central and thought i'd bring it over here too...
    Why a Froyo factory reset really isn't (plus, a fix for upgrade issues) | Android Central

    It leads to this android central forum post on factory resetting our X's to 2.2 without the carryover of 2.1 installations so it should make everything run smoother....
    here's the forums post with instructions...
    Bingo! I finally figured out how to get things straight in my Droid X 2.2 update - Android Forums

    I'm gonna try this as soon as i can...will update as soon as i do...
     

    Advertisement
  2. AshG

    AshG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    24
    Doing this now. In theory, it should work quite well. I'll post back once I've given this a try.
     
  3. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    Just saw this on Tech Crunch. I would do this if I hadn't already done two... If that MP3 problem creeps up again I'll give it a shot.

    Good idea.
     
  4. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I think it should be noted that with any major OTA update, a factory reset is a good idea.
     
    jroc likes this.
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    541
    Thanks for posting this. I saw this (and did this) yesterday. I've just been busy and did not have time to post it here. My apologies.

    Will let you guys know how it goes, but so far, so good!
     
  6. androidb

    androidb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    11
    I tried what someone posted in the comments of that first article:

    "Deleting the cache should do the same thing. Recovery screen - wipe cache - reboot. Worked miracles for my X without having to factory wipe."

    Worked great for me as well and I didn't lose any of my settings. Phone is much quicker now.
     
    Ubermother, Duckster and ara0320 like this.
  7. wdstone

    wdstone Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do i find the wipe cache?
     
  8. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49

    This is same as clear cache right? Hold Home key while powering up till you see the little Andoid guy with the exclamation point. You get a menu and you navigate up/down with your volume keys and select with the camera button.
     
    2horses likes this.
  9. wad7719

    wad7719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    9
    Did this factory reset this weekend to try to resolve the wifi constantly disconnecting issue. No luck.
     
  10. ZXMustang

    ZXMustang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    10
    I factory reset my X right before I took the OTA 2.2 update. I has NO issues with it whatsoever.
     
  11. deekum1627

    deekum1627 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    16
    okay i did a factory reset, but i didnt format my sd card is that okay
     
  12. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    Doing that did help a bit.
     
  13. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    I got stuck at the droid guy with the exclamation point, no menu came up and I had to pull the battery. Will try again in a few.

    ETA - happened again, I must doing something wrong. I power off, then hold down the home key and push the power button, release the power button when the M shows up, then release the home button when the droid guy/exclamation point appear. Should I hold the home key down longer? How long should it take for the menu to appear?
     
    Ubermother likes this.
  14. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Sorry about that. Forgot a key step in my post...

    hold home key, press power key, keep holding home key
    you'll see the android dude with a !
    press the search key
    use volume keys to scroll to clear cache
    use camera button to select
     
  15. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    ROFL!! Well, that explains it - I tried home and menu keys, shoulda kept poking on buttons! I'll give it yet another try....
     
  16. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah sorry about that. I should refrain from posting on Mondays before I have had any coffee.
     
    2horses likes this.
  17. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    Got it to work just fine, but have no idea if it actually *did* anything for me. Is the factory reset option I saw on that menu the same as the one under settings/security?
     
  18. Paycer

    Paycer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    98
    Before I upgraded to the OTA 2.2 I went into recovery and did a factory reset and wiped data, wiped the cache partition, and then made a backup just in case. Resulted in a perfect upgrade with no issues whatsoever. I use AppBrain, so getting my applications back wasn't an issue. I don't care much about data. Most of my, "data," was stored in some random applications that I have no intention of using anymore, my contacts are in the cloud, I took my media and some data off my memory card ahead of time and formatted it, etc.
     
    Aggie1138 likes this.
  19. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    Is it ok to do this reset if I'm rooted or do I need to unroot (no sure how to on 2. 2 OTA) I'm assuming if I can do this while rooted it will unroot my phone?
     
  20. 2horses

    2horses Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    47
    Does anyone VZW's Backup Assistant for their contacts? Between that and appbrain, should cover almost everything.

    Paycer, did you have to do a list copy on Appbrain before you wiped your phone, or did it hold all your apps even with the wipe?
     
  21. JustinHEMI

    JustinHEMI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    148
    I did the same. I also factory reset after 2.2 for shits and giggles. I have been flawless with launcher pro since day 1 of froyo.
     
  22. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    Does factory reset wipe what's on your sd card? Sorry, I'm sure it says in the link but I'm too lazy to read :eek:
     
  23. ZXMustang

    ZXMustang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Nope it does NOT. No matter what anyone here says, it does not do anything to your SD card. I have done it 20 times and have never had an issue with my media stored on the SD card.
     
    Btros likes this.
  24. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
  25. Btros

    Btros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    81
    Another question: The first post in that link says "As per usual, please backup any important info such as your pictures and format your SD card right before you do your factory reset."

    Does formatting do anything to the data/media on your SD card?

    edit: looking in the settings in my phone I see that it does erase the data so I should back it up somewhere beforehand.
     

Share This Page

Loading...