For those of you having problems with your Incredible after 2.2General


Last Updated:

  1. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    I'm seeing more and more threads about laggy and battery problems after the 2.2 update. So I figured I'd make a thread that answers all the questions. I have not talked to anyone who installed the leaked RUU who is having any issues with 2.2. All the people who are reporting problems are people who installed the OTA.

    For those who don't know, the RUU was a flash. It wipes everything out of the phone and reinstalls a clean copy of Android 2.2 The OTA was an update. All that does is overwrites your system file and few other files, and that's it. Because of this, you will have compatibility problems with apps installed from 2.1 on 2.1. The same thing happened with Eris & Droid users going from 2.0 to 2.1.

    I'm posting Quadrant Scores higher than the Nexus One (consistently) and I'm getting 12-18 hours out of my battery. I'm noticing a huge increase in standby time, as compared to 2.1.

    So those of you who are experiencing Lag, Force Closing, and Poor Battery Life. The best thing to do is hard reset. You're contacts are likely backed up to Google, If you have the save destination on your pictures set to go to SD Card then those wont be touched, and Since you're using 2.2 you're apps will also back up & resync. So if you're experiencing problems, this is the first step to troubleshooting.

    If you do not know how to hard reset, you can go to:

    Settings > SD & Phone Storage > Factory Data Reset > Then choose Phone & Internal Storage.

    Not to sound like a jerk, but these are the necessary troubleshooting steps to fix the lag that many people are experiencing. If you are not willing to do this, don't bother posting asking how to fix your lag & battery problems.
     

    Advertisement
  2. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    Can you fix my problems with losing 3G every other time I turned off the device? A hard reset did not fix my problem. Replacing the device did not fix my problem.
     
  3. bassdelux15

    bassdelux15 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    7
    I did't have any problems after the OTA. Not sure why so many people are having problems, I just updated via OTA and my phone was ready to go.
     
  4. cortecds

    cortecds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yes. Me too.
     
  5. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    If replacing your device didn't work, It sounds like a network problem w/ VZW
     
  6. cortecds

    cortecds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    13
    It worked fine before 2.2
     
  7. BetaMan

    BetaMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    55
    I did the RUU and have had no problems since 2.2
     
  8. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    140
    Im tempted to try even though the OTA helped me dramatically.

    Google is your friend folks. If you don't know how to factory reset, or anything else, google it.... or search here.
     
  9. MooN

    MooN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    7
    I got the OTA update. Getting lots of typing lag when typing to sites. No problems with lag while texting or using Google talk. Should I do the RUU update or will a reset be enough?
     
  10. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    Nope. I downgraded to 2.1. Problem went away. I turned the device off/on several times with no issues. The 2.2 update got pushed again to the phone. I took the update. Problem came back immediately.
     
    Crosley123 and SCARLETnGREY like this.
  11. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    If its typing lag on Android Forums, I had this problem on 2.1. If its ALL web pages, do a hard reset. But DONT install the RUU if u already have 2.2. You'll either end up with an error saying it can't update because u have 2.2 already or a phone with nothing more than the functions of a paper weight.
     
  12. appleaj

    appleaj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    55
    I flashed the 2.2 ROM off of the XDA website, works great.
     
  13. Fine69

    Fine69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have no issues with the update if anything Major performance gains.
     
  14. cfmistry

    cfmistry Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I did a factory reset, but without erasing all internal memory. Does that "count" as erasing everything?
    Thanks,
    -Cyurs
     
  15. CarbineGuy

    CarbineGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    So I did a factory reset, and I have no service...any help please?
     
  16. MooN

    MooN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    7
    Have you tried dialing *228, option 1?
     
  17. CarbineGuy

    CarbineGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    6
    That finally worked.

    Does anyone know how to restore all my apps?
     
  18. woop

    woop novacane (OFWGKTA) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    Factory reset means having the phone in the form it came from the factory, so if you have anything that was not erased that wasn't already there, then no, that does not count.
     
  19. euph_22

    euph_22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    595
    Doesn't that still reflash the system partions? Most android phones don't have large internal storage cards. This would be the same as doing a factory reset but leaving the sd card alone.

    Assuming he meant: "will that fix any compatibility issues I'm having." Then yes, it should. If you had to reinstall your apps, and reset your settings then it's a factory reset.
     
  20. sillyrabbitt123

    sillyrabbitt123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    19
    What is the verdict? I am having some problems here and there should I do a factory reset? or is it a waste of time?

    -My battery depletes faster then before
    -My Touchdown isnt syncing with exchange well
    -I have a little lag where I didnt before
    -I cannot download video files from gmail
    -my gmail app icon when pressed was opening the video player (now it doesnt) and is working correctly.

    Is it worth all the trouble to reset?

    thanks!
     
  21. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    This is my list of issues I had with Froyo and a factory reset didn't fix any of them:

    - Loss of 3G service every other time the phone is power cycled.
    - Swype doesn't work the way it should. Uninstalled/re-installed, but it doesn't work when the phone is power cycled. Per Swype, you must toggle the input method every time.
    - Angry Birds doesn't run. :(
    - Phone doesn't charge fast enough to be used as a GPS unit in the car. HTC/VZW says this is by design.

    The first and last issues are enough for me to pass on Froyo for the moment. What good is smart phone with no data? What good is having Google Navigation if you can't use it?
     
  22. euph_22

    euph_22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    595
    If you back your stuff up, it's not that big of a hassle. I didn't, and it's still not that annoying.
     
  23. sillyrabbitt123

    sillyrabbitt123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    19
    I will do it.

    thanks!
     
  24. sillyrabbitt123

    sillyrabbitt123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    19
    What does this mean? I didnt try GPS yet? What do you mean it wont charge when using GPS?

    thanks
     
  25. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    When you use GPS in the car and you're plugged into a charger, it doesn't charge fast enough so GPS drains your battery. If you're using GPS and a streaming service like Pandora, Froyo will drain your battery very quickly even if you're plugged into a charger.
     

Share This Page

Loading...