For those of you who have Yahoo working "properly"...please advise.Support


Last Updated:

  1. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    35
    Although it may sound insane to some I really want to have my Yahoo mail working with my new HTC Inc.

    For whatever reason I am not getting PUSH delivery with HTC Mail app or K-9 or ROID 1.0.

    I have a paid Yahoo Plus account...I am not sure if that matters. I have tried several configurations and none seem to work right.

    I have allowed HTC mail to auto setup my account, I have tried manual IMAP settings with various server configs.

    So my question is...for those of who have their Yahoo mail being pushed via IMAP and are getting sent messages placed in the sent mail folder on the server, how did you set it up? Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 338lapuaAI

    338lapuaAI Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    HTC Mail -> Select Yahoo Account -> Menu -> More -> Settings -> Send & Receive.

    You can at least have it update every 5 mins. I have done some testing and I get the email notification about 30 secs after I send it. I was testing between my gmail account on my computer and sending it to my yahoo account.
     
    twospirits likes this.
  3. armoredsaint

    armoredsaint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    22
    i googled and got this, it's working perfectly on my yahoo account- make sure you are setting the sending and receive correctly.

    go to mail icon
    add account
    enter email address in email address filed (name@yahoo.com)
    enter password at password field
    select MANUAL SETUP not next
    select imap
    username= name@yahoo.com
    password = yourpassword
    imap server= imap.mail.yahoo.com
    port=143
    security=none
    optional = blank
    select next

    you will then be prompted to sign in do so.

    will then be taken to the smptp settings which only prompts (going form memory) you for address which is smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com. leave the port as is. then select next. sign in. name your account and that's it.

    MAKE SURE YOUR Wi-Fi is OFF!!! and use 3G, don't ask me why.
     
    Sharpe Man and twospirits like this.
  4. armoredsaint

    armoredsaint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    22
    it's almost instant like my blackerry tour for yahoo :D
     
  5. trojanchick99

    trojanchick99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have a regular account. I have it set up imap and it works beautifully except when WiFi is on.
     
  6. jwm2

    jwm2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    270
    twospirits likes this.
  7. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    here is how i set mine up and it works, i just have to have wifi off if i wanna check my yahoo mail. its kindof annoying but not a dealbreaker by any means.

    Make sure Wi-Fi is turned off
    Press the E-Mail icon (the default Android E-Mail application)
    Enter your Yahoo E-Mail address and password
    Press “Manual Setup” in the lower left hand corner
    For “Incoming Server Settings” set the IMAP server to “imap.mail.yahoo.com” and the Port to 143
    For “Outgoing Server Settings” set the SMTP Server to “smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com” and the Port to 587
    Check “Require sign-in” and press Next
    Select how often your Droid will check for Email, and choose default options
    Give the account a name and set your display name for outgoing messages

    edit: i just noticed you have yahoo mail plus, this is for a regular account.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  8. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thanks to all...tried these settings and am getting mail at the set 5 minute intervals. I am testing a Plus and a free account. Both incoming settings are working fine. Is there any way to get my sent messages be pushed up to yahoo.com?? Right now they only reside on the device.
     
  9. tranceFusion

    tranceFusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    26
    I love the people that say "it is working perfectly" and then say "turn off wifi".. not so perfect, huh?
     
    dbrits likes this.
  10. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    When my wife had the Eris, I gave up on trying to get yahoo mail to work smoothly so I just saved the web version of yahoo in her favortites...she was happy with that.
     
  11. trpt

    trpt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yahoo mail works EXCEPT there is no access to your folders that I can see. Only the Inbox registers new mail. I've got custom filters that route incoming mail into different user-defined folders.

    (On the iPhone this works perfectly).

    Anybody know a solution? For now I'm just using the web version of Yahoo mail which is pretty good.
     
  12. youngdoc

    youngdoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    59
    Bump to this question. I too have had no success getting my sent messages to register on the server -- they are only saved on my device. I have a Yahoo Plus account and I have tried both POP and IMAP settings. If you are having success getting this to work, please post your method here. Thanks!
     
  13. Lars

    Lars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    This was an issue with WM phones too. An imperfect implementation of imap somewhere.
     
  14. stanfna

    stanfna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    29
    so can anyone confirm that with a PLUS account you can receive mail while WiFi is "ON".

    I don't want to spend $20 for this one "feature" only to realize i still can not receive my yahoo mail while WiFi is on.

    thanks!
     
  15. leahcimp

    leahcimp New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Plus account and was not able to get Yahoo to work with WiFi on.

    I gave up and moved on to K-9 based on other recommendations. I highly recommend it, works much better (regardless of your Wifi state).
     
  16. wonderbread

    wonderbread Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    297
    I suspect Yahoo doesn't work with Wifi on because yahoo has agreements with mobile carriers to allow IMAP remote access but not on just any network.

    By the way, I setup my account using the non-manual setup and it worked great. HTC automatically set up android.imap.mail.yahoo.com and set it to SSL. Works great, no wifi.
     
  17. Lars

    Lars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    I have DSL service at home that comes with yahoo. I doubt yahoo is the issue. Likely a problem in the Android iptables filtering a port.
     
  18. CM67

    CM67 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    43
    I havent done my yahoo mail yet and was wondering ... can you set it to check if you have new email only when you open it, instead of it checking by itself at pre determined time intervals?
     
  19. alison03

    alison03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'm really new to the smartphone world and have managed to get my gmail synched up to where I get email alerts within seconds of receiving it. First off, can you tell me what "push" mail is? I don't know if I have it or not and if I need it. Also, what does your changes do to yahoo mail? Make it alert me of new messages? :eek:

    I have a basic yahoo account that sometimes notifies me of mail (sometimes doesn't, and sometimes rings and sometimes vibrates) and the time varies between a few minutes and almost half an hour of an email being sent. I haven't figured out the rhyme or reason yet.

    Again I'm really new to this (haven't downloaded any apps from the app store yet...just trying to do one thing at a time) and this would be my first major change to my phone that isn't stock. I'd follow your directions blindly since I have no clue as to what any of that means (port/imap etc...may as well be in german) and don't want to 'mess' anything up by not understanding the changes I'm making. Maybe someone speak to me like I'm five (Psych reference if you watch) :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...