For those that came from ATT service....


Last Updated:

  1. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    How do you feel about ATT launching the lawsuit against Verizon?

    Verizon Wireless posts - Wireless - CNET News

    Personally, I think it's silly. VZ is only showing 3G coverage, not touting what ATT is bragging about in their lawsuit... more specifically more smartphone users, has the iphone, can make voice calls outside of 3G coverage....

    The ads were only about 3G coverage, and ATT does have a major lapse outside of cities. For example, I used to be on ATT and lose 3G coverage just 10 minutes outside of town.

    ATT also is saying they have the fastest network. I find that hard to believe. At least in my region. iphone, many HTC phones, etc... sure they were all "ok" in the city, albeit 1-2 bars in a LOT of popular areas, but the LATENCY was so bad, that it made using features like browsers and other data hungry mainstream apps impossible to use, like pandora or last.fm.


    Overall, I'm glad I switched to VZ, I tried a TP2, and that got me hooked on the speed of their network, however my TP2 had the echo problem, so I had to return it. I bought a droid and I have the best call quality ever, and I can actually stream youtube, last.fm, pandora, etc.... perfectly, even with 1 bar on VZ ;)

    My experience on VZ has been the best so far combined with the droid. Best call quality, best data performance (and speed tests!), I even travel outside of town **gasp** and where ATT had 1 bar of edge, I get FULL strength on VZ, and data speeds to match )

    What's your experience so far if you have switched from ATT?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Durkan

    Durkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Kinda makes you wonder with 90 million customers what the hell AT&T does with all that money. Sure as hell isnt upgrading its equipment. I got a call today from at&t lady doing a survey as to why i switched. Normally i would just hang up, but i was happy to tell her how much the service sucks so bad between all the dropped calls and spotty 3g in my area especially at home. If verizon gets an iphone, they will get the 50 million or so iphone people from at&t i guarantee it. I havent met a single person yet who said they wouldnt switch for the better service. At&t service sucks, and they know it themsevles, thats why they are suing cause they are desperate...:p
     
  3. MonmouthDroid

    MonmouthDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think iPhone people are irritated enough with their service that Sprint could get an iPhone and they would switch.
     
  4. craighwk

    craighwk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    21
    I think it's funny. Perhaps AT&T should concentrate on building out their network with more stable signals rather than lawsuits.

    I love Verizon's answer this week:

    "AT&T did not file this lawsuit because Verizon's "There's A Map For That" advertisements are untrue; AT&T sued because Verizon's ads are true and the truth hurts," Verizon's memorandum of law said, filed in response to AT&T's TRO request.

    Burn.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    LOL...bringin' the fight over here from vortex huh syntrix. :p

    I'm still w/ AT&T, and in my area, my Moto Q Global rarely loses 1-2 bars in the Balt./DC corridor (still have it w/ATT service). I'm only 2-3 miles from nearest VZ and AT&T stores, I-95, and only 2 blocks from the VZ CO, and my DROID is constantly losing total signal and switching to 1x when its just sitting on my desk. I work from home and upstairs in my office I get 3G speed tests @ ~ 400Kb, but if I move 20 ft to my bedroom I get 1.5Mb.

    I'm sure in the NE, most carriers signals/networks are pretty solid, but I couldn't help but think about the ads when I left the store with my DROID, and no signal. I'm thinking its just the DROID though given all the comparisons to VZ BBerrys et al., but AT&T is reachin with this one. Its funny how they changed the appearance of the coverage map on their website following the suit. When you initially load the page, the 3G map was the top layer of the Nation-view...but now, the top layer is simply "Nationwide coverage".
     
  6. jleejordan

    jleejordan Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    poor at&t :(....

    i live about a mile from an at&t tower and can't use a damn iphone in my house. guess what !!! my droid works perfectly. my cellphone experience is this ...

    1st contract: cingular= no reception. canceled the contract to go to verizon

    2nd contract: verizon. ahhhhhh. the clouds opened up and sunshine filled my eyes ... until blinded by the iphone.

    3rd contract: at&t. wow a jillion new towers. raising the bar!!! uhhhh .. why can't i talk on the phone in my house? i live on the top of a hill and there's a tower less than a mile from me. .... laters

    4th contract: verizon :)... tears of joy. FU iphone. i can play silly games on my super cooked omnia that destroys your pretty little kid's toy.

    and now .... the freakin droid. seriously. let crybaby at&t spend some money on tissues and earplugs for america ... we don't want to hear it ... and we don't sympathize with you. you took our money and gave us absolutely nothing in return. within 3 months i had more rollover minutes than my plan gave me (500+ rollover when i was paying for 450 minutes a month). that should tell you something.

    sorry about the rant.
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I read that the iPhone uses different channels/bands for upstream and downstream, which is causing most of the users' blues (e.g. 850 for upstream/1900 for down), where other phones stay on one band. Any truth to this?
     
  8. Durkan

    Durkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    The reason at&t network sucks is because they dont have much spectrum yet they have the most customers. sprint for example has alot less customers and more spectrum so they dont have the dropped call issues and flaky 3g. This is what ive been told anyways. Again i say wtf is at&t doing with all the money. Those CEO's must be making serious bank
     
  9. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303

    BS!

    It's 800 and/or 1900 for ATT, typically depending on the region. Same for any similar device (not just ibone), you must have "read that" on vortex :D
     
  10. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Lol, maybe, but I haven't slept much since Sunday...not really sure where I read it. However in my bandselect app on my Q, it says 850 and/or 1900...not sure if you're commenting on band # or which phone uses a given band. I'm just now hearing all the AT&T complaints about 3G service, iPhones in particular, but as it stands, my Q stays pegged at (4) bars 90% of the time in my area. Browsing can be a chore, but I chalked that up to the Q's HW specs. I've actually played BF2 while tethering via the Q, and was able to put up similar numbers with 5x the latency...was noticably harder though. :D

    What sux is that I checked www.antennasearch.com (not sure how accurate it is) and apparently my area is surrounded by 37 towers and 247 antennas, in what appears to be an almost perfectly balanced circle, within a 4 mile radius. I know they are not all AT&T or Verizon (mostly Nextel :mad:) but I hoped for better VZ service, especially being so close to the CO...and all the "can you hear me now?" hype. :)
     
  11. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    Qualcomm Q? That goes WAY back if it is :)

    IIRC 850 was an old band around the cingular days?
     
  12. droidism

    droidism Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I am a former iPhone 3Gs user who now owns the Droid. The ONLY reason I gave up the iPhone and AT&T was because I moved from one coast to the next and my 3Gs coverage went to the toilet. The closest 3Gs access area is 76 miles north. AT&T touts that even though they may not have 3Gs coverage in many areas, they still offer the Edge Network. Well anyone who has used the edge network know this is unacceptable as surfing the web is painful to say the least. Before switching I called AT&T to inquire about my new area and their plans to install more towers. I was told they have no plans in the immediate future (glad the rep didn't lie to string me along). Anyway, after switching to the Droid I QUICKLY realized not only did I get a better network but I also got a much better PHONE. For the lurking iPhone fanboys let me say, I am not taking anything away from the iPhone as it is an amazing device which I have stated in previous posts. However, I simply think the Droid is better (for me)!
     
  13. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Motorola Q9 Global (AT&T's branded Q)...850 is just what I see as an option in my Bandselect app.
     
  14. eclipsed4utoo

    eclipsed4utoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    27
    Just so you know(and everybody else knows), the "bars" have little relation to actual coverage or signal strength. Don't use the "bars" as a measure of the service.
     
  15. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    maybe it is 850/1900 and you are right! It's been a long time since I looked up frequencies!
     
  16. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    What about when there are no bars, the "3G" block dissapears, then the "1x" block appears? Sorry, first time on VZ, not sure what to expect. My signal strength changes from -74dBm to -87dBm, while it sits idle on my desk, along with the 3G -> 1x change.
     
  17. eclipsed4utoo

    eclipsed4utoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    27
    The symbols at the top matter...just not the bars. I have one bar at my house and my call quality is the best I have ever heard and I never drop calls.

    PC World did like 8000 tests in difference cities around the country, and they noticed that even when they had 1 bar, they were still getting the same data transfer rates and call quality as they were when they had full bars. This was the same for Sprint, Verizon, and AT&T(the three carriers they were testing).
     
  18. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Fair enough. When I do Speedtest.net, in my woodframe-townhouse top floor office, I get ~400kb - ~600kb download, but if I move 30ft to my bedroom in the back of the house, I get upwards of 1.6Mb on the DROID.
     

Share This Page

Loading...