Force apps2sd with Titanium backup on Froyo!


Last Updated:

  1. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Force apps2sd with Titanium backup!
    Make sure you have froyo, busybox, and of course root. Once in titanium backup, go to all your apps, long press on one such as flash 10.1 app and you can move it to your SD card! Note: not all apps can be forced to SD card, but most can!
    Sent from my rooted Froyo Droid using Tapatalk
     

    Advertisement
  2. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Here is a pic to prove it :)

    Sent from my rooted Froyo Droid using Tapatalk
     

    Attached Files:

  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Have you tried to run them after moving them - that is the question....
     
  4. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Yeah! They all work great! Matter of fact tapatalk is running from my SD card.

    Sent from my rooted Froyo Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Although, I'm starting to see issues, such as apps that are on your SD card that have Widgets, once you reboot your phone, they vanish, with no way to get em back other than uninstall and reinstall em... hmmm maybe we should wait till this is more stable or cyan puts it out.. Oh and once I moved my apps to my SD, it slowed my Droid down.. I thought that was weird.

    Sent from my rooted Froyo Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185

    Are you seeing any adverse effects moving the flash file to the SD or any other apps such as games and dolphin hd?
     
  7. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Well, I'm not seeing any problems. I moved all of my games to the SD Card and everything loads fast, games still play really well, etc. The only thing I've noticed is that after closing a game, it seems to take a few extra seconds for the home screen to become responsive but I'm not entirely sure if that was in my head or not :D
     
  8. guitar2989

    guitar2989 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can confirm that flash still works after being moved to SD with TiBu. Ive noticed no difference. ( except more free memory :) )
     
  9. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Is anyone else having problems with Widgets loading after a reboot?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. stewart1champ

    stewart1champ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yes.

    I moved all over to SD card. After doing so, played around, forgot about it, went to bed. Woke up this morn, saw a post about disappearing after reboot. Well, rebooted, and all gone, wouldn't show up in App Drawer. Just went into settings and moved them back to phone, rebooted, back to normal. Only have one or two that have the option from Manage App area to even move over to SD card.
     
  11. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185

    Yes, that's why I've only moved games or other miscellaneous apps to the SD card. I kept all other apps including SetCPU in the phone's memory. I found moving SetCPU to SD causes my phone to revert back to 600 mhz after a reboot.
     
  12. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185

    Yeah, it's all in your head. haha. jk.
     
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Hmm - I haven't used TiBu to move apps, but have moved all but SetCPU of the apps that have Apps2SD enabled - and thus far I cannot get them to show in my LauncherPro. However, someone told me that I should go to manager applications and force close LauncherPro - until now I was just using the built-in restart.

    So, I am off to try it again.

    TBH, something like flash, while it does take a lot of memory, I want running from internal memory, just like SetCPU - with the slow Class 2 BUS speeds that the DRODI hardware is currently limited to, I only want apps on my SDCard that I don't run all that often, like TiBu and such.

    SetCPU - I knew that was gonna be a problem as soon as I saw that it was enabled - so I left it in memory.

    I think, though, that if you disable all profiles and disable the OC, then move it, then set it back up, it should work off the SDCard - but, like I said, ain't moving that one.
     
  14. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185
    Has anyone created a Nandroid backup while storing apps in the SD card? I wonder how that works. Does your phone remember that you stored those apps in the SD card when you perform a restore? To be honest, I'm afraid to test it myself. haha. :eek:
     
  15. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Yep, I did it, and it restored everything just like normal.
     
    xmr405o likes this.
  16. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185
    Sweet! So the apps you transferred to the SD are still in the SD?
     
  17. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Yep.. I didn't check em all, only a couple. But everything looks good to me. Just no widget apps to SD. :)
    But as before, you have to force launcher to stop to get em to show back up in your app drawer.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  18. cggorman

    cggorman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    664
    What good is the extra memory? Can it be allocated for RAM or is it just empty space doing nothing? Moving data to and from the SD Card will take a lot longer than from the mainboard chips, so I would expect the phone to lag on apps loaded to SD. For most apps, I can't see the advantage. Maybe something like skyview or google earth or certain larger games...
     
  19. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Phone doesn't lag when it comes to apps on the SD card. I have moved all games to the SD card (no productivity apps...bad idea IMO). Played a few of the games and it works just like it always did on Froyo...really fast! :) The only delay I've seen is when exiting an app that is on the SD card. Seems to take the phone 15-20 seconds to become responsive again.

    As for the extra space...I think that just enables you to add more apps but that is a huge deal if you are dealing with 1 or 2 big games on your phone. I have had to be selective with what games I load on my phone cause I would run out of storage space.
     
  20. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    That is AWESOME! Just moved most of my apps to SD. Didn't move any with widgets because of all your posts. I can now download all the apps I want!!
     
  21. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    Just downloaded 4 things that I wanted to put on my SD card. None of the 4 allows me to do so. Shoot U, Asphalt, Radio Time, and Space Physics. Its odd that I was able to move everything that I wanted to my SD card, but the 4 that I just downloaded wont. Did I do something wrong?
     
  22. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Try using tibu to detach them from the market and then maybe it will let you..I'm not sure, but it's worth a try.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  23. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    I did a reboot and detach from market, but it still didn't work. It just might be that the last 4 things that I tried won't do it. Pretty strange, but I guess it can happen.
     
  24. tjreishus

    tjreishus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    94
    another small issue is that any app that I moved to SD, lost their icons on my home screen.
     
  25. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    OK, by Google's own recommendation, if an application uses a widget, it should not be moved to the SDCard.

    See this post: http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/94946-moto-torch-lives-frf57.html#post901205

    Extra memory allows for ease of phone use. Although the BUS is indeed limited to Class 2 (~2 MB/s) that is more than sufficient for applications of that range - it still takes a second to move that into memory, and the lag is no different than running a program off of your HD on your computer.

    At the end of the day, Flash Memory is still faster than most of today's HDs, excluding, of course, SSDs. So the whole slowdown due to slower BUS speeds is really almost immeasurable.

    Or, big apps like Google Earth, Merck, Epicurious, etc....

    not all there will still be limitations.

    Perhaps those apps ahve it built in?

    You have to force close your home app (Settings --> applications and sync --> Manage Applications --> find your home app, usually easy to find under the running tab - force close it and then let it start back up.
     
    jimmydickens and tjreishus like this.

Share This Page

Loading...