Force close galore


Last Updated:

  1. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
    I recently installed Launcher Pro (full version), Pure Messenger, and The Weather/Flipclock Widget now Launcher Pro forces close every 5 minutes.

    Any clue?
     

    Advertisement
  2. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    well i use LP and pure messenger widget and pure calender widget a long with beautiful widgets weather clock, and i have no problems. so i think its possible that its the weather clock you are using causing the trouble. First I would uninstall and reinstall LP if that doesn't fix the problem try running with the weather clock uninstalled. If that still doesn't work try adjusting the memory usage settings in LP preferences, this can help with stability issues.
     
    mwl1119 likes this.
  3. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yeah I have tried it with and without the clock and it still does it :confused:
     
  4. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    try adjusting memory usage in the preferences as well as a few other settings as some may cause instability, for example the 3d app drawer is still experimental and could cause issues thought that setting works fine for me so that shouldn't be a problem. Just go through the settings and check things out. After that i would post your issue to the developer's bug thread in the forums on his site.
     
    mwl1119 likes this.
  5. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
    It seemed to have something to do with changing the shortcuts beside the app drawer. Whenever it forced close the shortcuts would vanish.

    I think I will stick with Expresso Sense for now and just use Pure Messenger for my SMS widget so it matches the rest.

    Atleast Friend Stream is easy to refresh my twitter/facebook and HTC's sense clock can keep track of time two thinks my LauncherPro setup failed at.

    I even tried the Beautiful Widgets clock and it was lagging worse than the weather/flip clock app.
     
  6. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    Wow that totally sucks! I absolutely love LP and my phone just flys running it. I have never had a single force close with it so I wonder what went haywire. It'd be great if we could figure it out for ya cause it is a very stable launcher.

    Anyway glad at least you are enjoying pure it's definitely one of my fav apps! And sense is great too I just feel like I'm in grade school looking at the home screen with those childish bubbles around the icons. I just can't stand them but it's not worth rooting just to lose the bubbles so I went with LP and now have it matching the look and feel of sense with just as much if not more functionality.
     
  7. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
    Just curious but does Pure Messenger Still work with Twitter?

    HTC FriendStream no longer authenticates with Twitter as of today
    See: HTC Peep or FriendStream Not Working?

    If so how do you skin Launcher Pro to look like Expresso?
     
  8. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    YUP....screw htc! They say they have no plans to fix the authentication error. They say download a third party app from market! So they are essentially removing features we paid for!!
     
  9. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82

    This phone really has begun to irritate me. I hate to say it but I may be forced into tricking T-mobile into giving me a Vibrant :(
     
  10. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    I made a custom dock and icons put it on sd card and loaded them using LP preferences for the dock and choose custom icon when puttingapps into the launcher dock. Custom docks and icons can be found on the launcherpro forums on the dev site
     
  11. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
    How do you get to the dialer?
     
  12. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    it's the "phone" app.

    to add it to the dock:

    long press on the spot you want to place the dialer>change shortcut>application>phone then pick your icon.
     
    mwl1119 likes this.
  13. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
    got it
     
  14. mwl1119

    mwl1119 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    82
    Ok I got launcher pro set up about how I want it.

    I do not like the Beautiful Widgets clock as the time tends to lag for me.

    I have everything set up as I did before and it seems stable (although not as fast as sense) but it forces close after shutting the keyboard.

    YouTube - Launcher Pro
     
  15. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    hmmmm. i never use the keypad. let me see if i can recreate it on my slide as well.
     
  16. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    nope no force close on mine. i'm at a loss man i don't know whats different about your setup but i just don't see these issues on mine. sorry man wish i could be more help to ya.
     
    mwl1119 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...