Force CloseGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. bistritapcv

    bistritapcv Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got my HTC Eris approximately Jan 19, 2010. Since then I have had to factory reset it THREE times (losing everything. Good thing contacts were backed up). First story Verizon gave me was it was the contacts causing the problems. Next story they gave me was that there were too many apps. I don't know if I buy either of these.

    First if there are too many apps, it should tell you. If too many apps are running, a simple power cycle (with battery removal) should fix the problem. But nothing did. It just took
    like 10 minutes to load, and then everything kept quitting unexpectedly and force closing (something like com.android.htc.acore and com.android.htc.phone, etc). Phone calls wouldn't work because the phone process kept force quitting.

    I don't want to be resetting and reactivating my phone every couple weeks. Anything else can be done? Is it bad quality control? Are there apps that remove operating system files? Do I always have to reset? Anyone else have this problem? What do you do?
     

    Advertisement
  2. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    How many apps do you have? There were others on this site that were having problems with either to many apps or certian apps. Try running it for a couple days without any apps ... if no problem add your apps a few a day. Most likely sounds like a bad phone, but try to find out if its the apps.
     
  3. predcrazy06

    predcrazy06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've had this same problem a few times. I had to factory reset my phone three different times over the past couple of weeks. I'm not sure if it was an app that I had downloaded or MyPandahome but I got the same error messages.

    I used MybackupPro to back up everything before I did the reset. After restoring everything for the second time I said to heck with it and just restored my contacts. I just had to download all of my apps again <sigh>. I have not had the problem since.

    I basically have the same apps that I had previously with the exception of a few. What apps do you corrently have installed and also do you have any alternate home's installed?

    I have searched forums on several different sites and I have still not found out what the problem was.
     
  4. bistritapcv

    bistritapcv Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Many: inserty, bar code reader, shazam, handycalc, stream furious, sokoban, my coupon, episcopal church calendar, Chicago Metra, some others. "Listen" is once. I probably did have a total of maybe 40. I forgot about the guitar hero and coloroid and a few games.
     
  5. predcrazy06

    predcrazy06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well it happened to me again today. My system force closed and I could not get service on my phone. I deleted Better Keyboard and the skins I had downloaded for it. I also deleted Spare Parts and made my hidden Google contacts visable. Rebooted the phone and it worked again. Not sure if it was Better Keyboard, Spare Parts, or the fact that my Google contacts were hidden but was ever I changed corrected the problem.
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    The newly updated Spare Parts has been giving a few people force close problems. They apparently added a pretty aggressive app killer in the software and when the update happens, for many, it is switched on. Anyone using Sense is running into problems.
     
  7. predcrazy06

    predcrazy06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    I checked my setting on that yesterday and it wasn't set to normal or agressive so I just left it alone
     
  8. bistritapcv

    bistritapcv Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    at least you are able to reboot.
    Whenevr I do the advanced application killer it shows like 10 or 12 apps running
    even when I am not using them. Should they all be running when not in use? Is
    there some kind of startup file like a .profile in linux that says to run everything?
    Can I remove files from being started unless they are used?
     
  9. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    There is an app called startup auditor or something similar available in the market. However, if you are already having so many force closes a task killer probably isn't going to improve things. I would dare say it is one of your problems.
     
  10. predcrazy06

    predcrazy06 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does it should still load to a home screen after all of the force close errors?
     
  11. bistritapcv

    bistritapcv Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well when I hit the home key it asked if I wanted to complete it using HOME or HTC Sense. HTC Sense showed the normal home screen. HOME showed a pared-down version.

    Point is even after removing the battery and replacing everything still force closed and I couldn't make calls use internet or do settings.
     
  12. hookem

    hookem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    44
    Some have suggested that it is not the number of apps you have loaded, but rather the amount of internal memory you have available. Less than 17MB on mine causes force close issues. Try removing apps you don't really use and keep track of internal space.
     
  13. bistritapcv

    bistritapcv Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes I can believe that but it is because they seem to start up automatically. It should matter only how many are running at the time for memory. Or do they also take up memory just being on the phone and not running? In any case a lot seem to be running that shouldn't be.
     
  14. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    8,365
    OK, this has been going back and forth for a few days now. bistritapcv can you answer a few questions so that we can try and get this sorted?

    1 - What is you current available memory on the phone?
    Settings > SD card & Phone Storage > Available Space

    2 - Are you running a task killer? If so, what is the name?

    3 - Can you please list the 3rd party apps you have installed?
    Market > My Downloads
     
  15. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    If you have more then 50 apps, that is too many.
     
  16. bistritapcv

    bistritapcv Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry. I was away. See below


    >>1 - What is you current available memory on the phone?
    >>Settings > SD card & Phone Storage > Available Space
    Depends. Right now it shows 49M. But when I stop everything with
    Advanced Task Killer then it goes to 65M (though Where's My Droid started
    up again). Sometimes even more processes will be running than what it showed
    here, but for this instance:
    market
    shopper
    market Live
    A Online Radio
    Messages
    Where's My Droid
    BBC News
    Advanced Task Killer

    (I never even started shopper or A Online Radio or market live). Sometimes there are more.


    >>2 - Are you running a task killer? If so, what is the name?
    See 1 above

    >>3 - Can you please list the 3rd party apps you have installed?
    >>Market > My Downloads
    This may be irrelevant now because you really need to know the list I had last time it crashed.
    Here's what I have now. Is probably similar to last crash but not exact. I can't remember
    exactly what last crash, but each is different:

    Rock Radio, BBC news, BeamReader, Here U Go, i Music, Sokoban, flightstats light,
    Mixzing, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, Washington Metro, MarketLive, stocks,
    Movies, TV Guide USA, Any Stop DC WMATA, Any Stop DC Circ, Shopper, Food Finder,
    Color Note, Barcode Scanner, Adv Task Killer, Listen, Transitguru Metra, handyCalc,
    Episcopal Calendar, Sunrise/Sunset, Where's my Droid, Shazam, Inserty (free), Ringtones (Mabilo),
    Toilet finder, Coming Up, Stream Furious, A Online Radio, My Coupons, TV.Com, TTS, Google Translate, DC Metro Map

    (has gotten progressively more)
     

Share This Page

Loading...