Force GPU renderingSupport


Last Updated:

  1. pkrexer

    pkrexer Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does anyone know if there is a advantage / disadvantage by enabling this under settings?
     

    Advertisement
    RaiseUp151z likes this.
  2. William T Riker

    William T Riker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    130
    Disadvantage is on it will glitch some older programs, for me I've noticed BatteryLife widget and Root explorer. Advantage Im guessing for games and such it should be faster
     
    RaiseUp151z likes this.
  3. shaffilupagus

    shaffilupagus Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    7
    RaiseUp151z likes this.
  4. Romparoo

    Romparoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    74
    What does it do to battery?
     
  5. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    51
    Has the potential to make things smoother and has the potential to make apps more glitchy.
     
  6. 8-Bit-Soldier

    8-Bit-Soldier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    59
    it actually improves it considering it takes most of the graphical work from the CPU.
     
  7. WalmartSecurity

    WalmartSecurity Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    201
    It forces hardware acceleration, I believe. All you need to do to enable hardware acceleration in apps is to add one line of code to your program, so I guess checking this forces older apps to be hardware accelerated.

    I haven't really noticed many differences except...

    1. Spotify transitions are MUCH smoother (swiping the album cover to go to the next song)

    2. Fruit ninja is screwy and freezes with the option on

    Apparently LauncherPro doesn't work well with it, either...
     
  8. wedgemoose

    wedgemoose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    88
    Wow, you guys just saved me. I was going nuts. the twitter app i was using was awful...i checked this setting and now it is perfect. nice find.
     
  9. dguy

    dguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    277
    Force GPU rendering made a handful of my older apps become laggy. I think the lesson here is that the setting is under developer options for a reason.
     
  10. csx321

    csx321 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've found that the reason my own app doesn't work with this enabled is that I'm using a function that isn't yet supported by the hardware accelerated rendering engine. It's simply drawing rectangles with rounded corners, but it's not yet supported. This is a debugging option, not an end-user option. Please do not turn it on unless you are a developer debugging an app.
     
  11. ozneilau

    ozneilau New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried enabling "Force GPU rendering" but it killed two of my favourite applications:

    ABC (Australia)
    Currently Tech News

    Neil.
     
  12. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    This helped out with smoothing scrolling in some apps, but broke others too. One game it broke is Xconstruct.
     
  13. jcash3

    jcash3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    30
    Wow, so I just tried out Pandora with this setting turned on and it is lightning fast. I think I will stick with the setting until I find an unstable app. Someone needs to come up with a widget to turn it on and off.
     
  14. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I just checked it and I"m gonna see how it performs .
     
  15. garvus

    garvus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    In another thread people were complaining that PDAnet doesn't work... it does but forcing the gpu option does make pdanet (best app ever besides tasker) to not display properly and makes it unusable.

    OPTIONS:
    1. add a PDAnet widget - works fine
    2. Switch off the 2D acceleration then run pda net .... chances are you are using a computer then anyway. When done - switch 2D gpu back on.

    Personally, I am using nova launcher and the screen trans. are MUCH smoother with the 2D gpu checked on.
     
  16. eugene654

    eugene654 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I had this option enabled because I'd noticed that it smoothed animations in some apps. However I've just discovered that it's not compatible with the PocketCloud RDS client. The mouse pointer stops responding with this option on. Just in case this is helpful to anyone. I had been breaking my head over this one for a while. I couldn't figure out what was going wrong. I haven't noticed any other issues with having the option on.

    Eugene
     
  17. shawn7668

    shawn7668 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys can anyone tell me that force gpu rendering makes games to ren faster or not??
    when that option is unchecked does the gpu is still used in games??
     

Share This Page

Loading...