Format phone storage vs. Clear storageSupport


Last Updated:

  1. rossmathis

    rossmathis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    79
    So if I do a Factory Reset on the phone it still has some of the old photos/videos I took, which leads me to believe it doesn't fully clear the device of everything, just the settings that I changed are returned to their factory defaults (duh!).

    I was curious if I do the Clear Storage option, which means turning off the device and holding one of the volume toggles while holding the power button - would that mean that the entire Android OS would be removed, or does it mean it does a format of the phones entire partition and re-installs Android (similar to a reformat/recovery partition on a computer)? In which case I would need to reactivate the phone doing the simple *228.
     

    Advertisement
  2. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    i believe a factory reset will reset the os but not clear out any of the stored memory. i know it won't clear your sd card and may not clear the internal memory but it will reset the os.
     
  3. rossmathis

    rossmathis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    79
    Yeah I have done the Factory Reset at least twice since having the phone, just because of my OCD. But I was curious if clearing the storage like mentioned above would wipe everything clear, but somehow keep the OS intact. I just want to do a 'super' format that doesn't fudge up the phone.
     
  4. djkilgus

    djkilgus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Jermflux

    Jermflux Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    choice the har ddrive option when you use your usb from the computer. under windows, right click on the internal storage and format it. right click on the sd card, format it. now turn the phone off. hold the volume down button and turn the phone on. EVERYTHING other than the factory ROM will be erased. After the reinstall you will be starting bran new. Matter of fact, any third party stuff that came with your phone such as the preloaded music will be gone too. your contact favorites will show up after starting gmail.
     
  6. Eric G

    Eric G New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about going to Settings, SD card & phone storage, then Format Phone Storage? What does that do?
     

Share This Page

Loading...