Formatting sd with Fat32+Ext2+LinuxSwap after installing rom?


Last Updated:

  1. Opettaja

    Opettaja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got done flashing my rom and installing cyanogen. will it mess up my rom Cyanogen 4.1.10.1 if i now format my sdcard to fat32 + ext2 + swap? Or do i need to format it then reinstall the rom?
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Hopefully your SD was already formatted to FAT32 and EXT2 before ..when you first did a Cyanogen ROM Flash.

    If it wasn't then you will not have Apps2SD running from your SD. However if you did have them before flashing then you are all set ...

    I don't understand why you would add a swap to the SD ... have not heard of this before ... the OS handles swap as needed and it uses RAM or Flash ROM in the phone's memory ... this is one reason to move apps to sd ... to have more Flash ROM space available for running apps and processes ...

    Please explain further your current formatting and what the swap process you are talking about entails...????
     
  3. Opettaja

    Opettaja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured it out, the reason i said swap is cause i just used recovery-RAv1.2.1G to format it and thats what the option was. I just ended up starting over (formatting and then re installing the rom) and no problems, loving cyanogenmod wish i installed it when I first got my phone.
     
  4. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    YES, what is not to love about a Cyanogen Build ?
    The community is very lucky to have such a talented and dedicated individual working on our behalf.
     
  5. Opettaja

    Opettaja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Absolutely! I was scared to do it, but it was really simply and very excited to see all what I can do with my phone now.
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Are you using the Nandroid image backup regularly so that you can revert back to previous build if you dont like the latest load .. ?
     
  7. Opettaja

    Opettaja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    No but I probably should, got a link so or anything so I can read up on it? I'm a nub so this is all new to me.
     
  8. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I dont have my MyTouch yet .. so you may need to figure out keys ... for this as this if using a G1

    Just Power Off ...
    While holding the HOME key (until recovery menu appears) ... press the PowerKey/hangup

    From the recovery Menu select Nandroid backup...

    You should also see a menu option for Restore from the latest Nandroid backup

    After Alt-B (nandroid backup) you may or may not get a confirmation prompt ... (usually the HOME key)

    The Backup will progress ... and when finished just select the Reboot option ... and you are done ...

    Now EVERYTHING on your phone is backed up and you can restore it to the previous state in a matter of minutes ...
     
  9. Opettaja

    Opettaja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay easy enough, ill do that once i finish getting all my apps redownloaded thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...