Former iphone users...quick questionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    i came from a 3G and still have the 3G simcard in my captivate. Every once in awhile (at starting to happen more often), whenever i power down my phone to change the battery or just reset it, it'll come back on with the no network sign on the notification bar. Sometimes i literally have to reset my phone about 10 times for it to recognize the network. Anyway, my question is.....are any of u previous iphone users still using the same simcard. If so are u having problems after boot up?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Infinite-t

    Infinite-t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    74
    I am using the same sim card I had in my 3g and my razr before that. So far I have not had any issues with booting and getting on the network. Maybe call or go to AT&T and let them know. They can probably zap you up a new SIM if they think that might be the problem.
     
  3. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    i bought the phone at walmart. isn't there like a $35 charge for a new simcard?
     
  4. Infinite-t

    Infinite-t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    74
    Well, you would probably have to go to AT&T to get the SIM, obviously, but I dont know if they would charge for a sim. If yours has "gone bad" it would be pretty lame for them to charge you for a new one.

    If I remember right we had to do it a few years ago for our kid and they just cooked us up a new one, I dont think they charged for it.
     
  5. Frenzy2223

    Frenzy2223 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    6
    Not if your sim is jacked up! I lost my phone a few years back and the charged me for a new sim, but the sim card on my sons phone decided to take a dump
    one day and they gave him a new one at the store for zero charge.
     
  6. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    I'll try the simcard issue. hopefully its that and not the phone cause im way past my 30 days
     
  7. CodyO32689

    CodyO32689 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I came from a 3gs and haven't had any problems at all. When I first got the 3gs they gave me a new sim card, and if I remember correctly it was a new "3g" enabled sim card so that may be your problem.
     
  8. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    I took my cap into AT&T after I bought it and asked em if I needed to do anything special because I had done what you did and just put my 3gs sim into my cap. Everything worked I just wanted to make sure that they weren't going to change my unlimited data plant to their lame tier plan automatically or something. Anyway, the guy said I needed a new sim card and gave me one for free. Also it busted my voicemail. There's another thread on here having to do with that (probably old). Anyway, I doubt I actually needed a new sim, the guy was probably just following standard protocol which dictates new phone = new sim card. But it still sounds like your old sim card is toasted. Probably nicely toasted. Soon it will burn up. And be gone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...