Forum Bugs - Post em here.


Last Updated:

  1. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    18,558
    As you can see there are some ongoing changes happening to the forums right now. If you come across any bugs - and at this point you probably will - you can feel free to post them here.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Sundog

    Sundog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    No big deal at all, but my avatar isn't showing up. (It shows up in my control panel.) Is it because it's a GIF animation?
     
  3. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    7
    Seems like the ads arent working. i wouldnt mind you guys getting a little ching ching from that.
     
  4. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    18,558
    Do you have "use custom avatar" radio button selected, under the picture of the avatar?
     
  5. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    On the main page of this site (I did want to use the term "front page" but it sounded way too Microsofty and cliche), clicking the "top five stats" hyperlink brings up a monster sized white box and right in the middle a tiny little cute menu that is dwarfed by the sheer size of its parent, I feel sorry for the poor little menu sitting there all on its lonesome in the cold, please make it feel all snug and warm
     
  6. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    18,558
    Quit using IE.

    :p
     
  7. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49

    Me: The intranet is broken
    Sys Admin: Stop using firefox
    Me: But phases told me to quit using IE
    Sys Admin: What is more important, AF or the intranet?
    Me: AF of course
    Sys Admin: wise choice, wise choice, but how are you going to submit your expenses?
    Me: Dont spend anything
    Sys Admin: Problem solved
     
  8. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    18,558
    LOL.

    Seriously though.... yeah it's an IE bug.. it occurs with our popups, like the "quick links" and stuff. In fact, it's happening on a number of vbulletin sites I'm on.

    Phases will look into it.

    Thanks :)
     
  9. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    I can understand why it is an IE bug, Microsoft are infamous in the way they ignore standards. Fortunately (without using WINE) I am unable to run IE on my home machines.
     
  10. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    When you edit one of your own posts using quick edit. There is no option to save, you have to click the "vote now" button to save your changes. Its not obviously clear that this is what you should do, and your not actually voting for anything anyway.
     
  11. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    are you looking within the post itself? you will see save, go advanced, delete and cancel.

    under that you will see edit, quote, etc.. ignore those. use the save button withing the box
     
  12. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Yes it says that now, so they must have changed it. When I made the post above the button labelled "save" was actually labelled "vote now"
     
  13. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    It did it again just now, the save button was called "Vote". I edited again and it changed back to "Save"...
     
  14. godsdragon

    godsdragon VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    22
    HI... Functionally I can go to places I click... Aesthetically, it sucks! lol The boxes that come when you click on search, new posts quick links come up reaally wide with the boxes in the center... Is it just me or is this accross the board?

    Thank you!
     
  15. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    18,558
    It took me a minute to figure out what you meant but I remember now! That's a bug that effects IE users.

    I totally forgot about that.

    Thanks for the reminder!
     
    godsdragon likes this.
  16. godsdragon

    godsdragon VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    22
    Youre welcome... So is there a fix or do I live with it as long as I use IE8?
     
  17. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,216
    Likes Received:
    18,558
    No fix eta on this one. Sorry.. :(

    Will add to list of stuff to mention to our developer on his next visit, though.
     
  18. godsdragon

    godsdragon VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    22
    Ok thanks a bunch!:)
     
  19. numus

    numus Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    32
    Why aren't signatures being added to specific posts anymore? Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't..
     
  20. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    200
    Signatures are shown once a page per user (on the first post on each page)
     
  21. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    I've been on extremely large forums and I've not seen that policy before.
     
  22. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,215
    Likes Received:
    638
    its not a policy, its an addon to speed page loads but more importantly clean up threads for reading.
     
  23. spangler07

    spangler07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Why doesn't my avatar show up when I post? i have a picture added...
     
  24. shivers316

    shivers316 Godmember VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,038
    Likes Received:
    967
    You've put up a profile pic, not an avatar.
     
  25. spangler07

    spangler07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ugh, I'm stupid. I didn't know there was a difference. Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...