Forum signatures


Last Updated:

  1. dibba

    dibba Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just wondering how come forum signatures don't show up for anyone (including myself)?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I personally have them disabled on purpose. But try looking in the user control panel, they might be disabled.
     
  3. dibba

    dibba Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK, so looks like my sig only shows up in the first thread of a topic that I started.

    Hmmmm.

    Edit: Ok, this is even weirder. I saw my signature in this thread on my first post just a second ago, then after posting this it's gone.

    I'm going to log out and see if it only shows if you're logged out.

    Edit #2: I give up, I can't even find this topic when logged out.

    Oh well.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    Correct, it will be shown on your most recent post. User sigs are displayed only once per thread to reduce page loading times.
     
  5. Fenga Papit

    Fenga Papit Banned

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    38
    Holy sh!t, that's pure genius!!!
     
  6. dibba

    dibba Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK, now this is just me trying to figure it out.

    I posted just a few minutes ago in the "which commercial do you hate the most thread", went back to it, and my sig wasn't there. And my sig wasn't in this thread anymore how it was earlier either.

    I see what you're saying, and I do believe you know what you're talking about, but maybe cookies or something are involved because it doesn't seem to be consistent.

    For example, based on your theory, my sig should show in this thread since it's obviously the last thing I'm typing at the moment. I'll check back and edit this post with the results.

    (and I do have the "show your sig" checked below and always have)

    EDIT: No sig showing up. Just thought it was odd when I noticed it would show up or not at "random" times.
     
  7. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    244
    It's actually your first post in a thread that your signature will display in.

    dibba, I can see your sig in your first post in this thread.
     
  8. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    i remembered asking this before, went to look it up and see i never got an answer

    i don't get how that would reduce page load times or server load

    if the same img url is used in a html multiple times, you still only download that img once
    of course you save the handful of bytes that the text takes in the html, but that's hardly worth mentioning

    the server should also only need to fetch the sig once from the database
     
  9. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    I NEVER see anyone's sig at all from my pc. If I am using my ipod touch to surf, sometimes I can see them, but not always.


    <EDIT>

    I'm an idiot. Had it turned off in the options.
     
  10. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    sigs show up in your first post on each page of a thread

    keeping in mind the default posts per page is 50. if you are post #25 (1st page) you will see your sig, if you post at #40, you will not since your on the first page still.

    if you post #60 you will since that is the first post of your on the second page. etc etc

    also i may seem tricky cause the mod doesnt work well with ajax so when you post in the quick reply it will show up regardless but once you do a refresh if it is not suppose to be there (following the rules above) it will be gone.
     
  11. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    It works exactly as Caddyman and Slug have said for me and I am using ghetto IE7 here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...