Forwarding messages?


Last Updated:

  1. Trent

    Trent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, my first post:)
    Ok, i have tried a search first but can't find the answer, and i'm sure i am missing the obvious but when i try and forward a msg it seems the only way i can send it on is to add the phone number manually even if that person is in my phone book.
    Surely there is a shortcut to my phone book?
    Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Hi. When I try and forward a message (using stock sms app) I click on 'TO' and it does not bring down a phone contacts list / direct me to my contacts list.

    You have to start typing in the name of the person you want to send the message to and this works fine for me... it's fine when you are sending to a couple of people..but not good when you want to send it to many / you can't remember who to send it to where a drop down menu would jog your memory...

    I had to forward a New Years text to over 400 people and I was like WTF?!? I have to type in peoples names ~(first couple of letters of the persons name) to send the message...
    I could not do this...

    so I downloaded chomp / handscent to do what the standard messaging app should have done... the 3rd party SMS apps allow you to easily select from a drop down menu who you want to send the message to which is useful when its many people your sending a message too
     
  3. erbug

    erbug New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Handcent and I can simply forward any message by holding my finger on a message that I wish to be sent and a popup will come up asking what to do with the message. The option to "forward" is listed. Hope this helps.
     
  4. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    I don't think he has trouble forwarding a message but sending it on to someone who is already in his phone book but he can't find them by entering a few letters of there name so he has to manually type in a telephone number (I hope I'm right in saying).


    Even with the standard sms app you just hold down a text and it says 'forward' so in that respect it's not different to the 3rd party sms apps.

    Try deleting the contact for which this problem occurs... add the contact in the phone book again... and see if this still happens...
     
  5. Trent

    Trent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes that is exactly the problem.

    For some strange reason there is only one name that ever comes up from my phonebook, and i have tried going through every letter of the alphabet just to see what comes up, and it's only when i get to d my dads name is listed?
    I did wonder if maybe it's where i have my contacts saved in a particular way for them to be assesable from the message section.

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  6. jUsT2eXy

    jUsT2eXy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    124
    Hmmm.

    Did you fix the problem though? Your contacts should be synced with your gmail account so you could delete all your contacts and sync them back again.

    Try that if you have not resolved your problem. I say this because I thought it was a problem with one persons contact details not everyone's (Am I right in saying that?) ...

    Also try downloading one of the 3rd part apps like Handscent / Chomp and see if that works. Your problem should be resolved . :p
     
  7. Trent

    Trent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, thanks again.
    No still not resolved this at the moment, and yes it is all contacts not showing, apart from that one mentioned.
    I'll give a try with the re-sync and if not go the app route.
     
  8. Trent

    Trent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quick update on this.
    I went to my phonebook and eventually found import, hit this and selected google and it has sync'd my contacts.
    They now show up as soon as i begin to type in the persons name.
    Downside is i now have two of everyone in my phonebook:eek: The gains outweigh the losses :D
    Thats the problem with not having a clue what i'm doing!

    Generally speaking the hero is great and i have found hardly any problems in the couple of months i have had it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...